Today's music?

Something Corporate - "North" (2003 - Geffen Records) Called "Emo" by it's label, just a good rock album to me.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Feb. 03, 2004 - 5:17 p.m.

Tired, so this will be short�

Here is the breakdown of yesterday�s weather here in Mohall:

Rain, staring around 8 am. Very light, but on and off all day. This lead to standing water on the pavement.

My shift was called in at 7:30. For the first three hours, all that fell was a steady drizzle. The temperature was steady at 33�. It was just a matter of time before things turned to crap.

They did at 10 pm. As soon as the temperature dropped below the freezing mark, all the standing water on the pavement turned to ice. All that I hadn�t already treated with salt, that is. I emptied a truckload of salt and brine on this ice, and had it turned back into liquid in less than an hour.

Then the snow started falling.

Hard.

And the wind picked up to a steady 25- 30 mph.

All of the standing liquid water/salt brine on the pavement quickly turned back into ice. With the snow falling, I couldn�t treat it with salt anymore.

It only snow hard for about an hour, but this lead to 1� to 2� of snow countywide. The wind was out of the west, and my route heads north/south.

This made for a very long night of constantly plowing, hoping to keep the lanes clear of snow. If we would have had 3�-5� of snow, I would have lost my lanes. As it was, I still had a mess.

By the time I went home at 7:30 am, I had 4 cars and a van stuck in my ditches. Driving too fast for conditions, as usual. I saw the van go off. She was heading northbound, and I was southbound. The woman driving the van tried to pass the line of traffic driving at the proper speed in the nearly clear driving lane. Once she hit the snow, she lost control. I think she did two complete circles before stopping in the median ditch, facing the wrong way.

She was just lucky her van didn�t roll�..


The day crew has gotten things under control, with only a few trouble spots left in the county. All are on the north/south directional routes.

Surprise!

Since I am now #10 on the callout list and the wind has died down considerably, I won�t have to work tonight. Nothing is in the forecast until tomorrow night.

If only 1 or 2 guys work tonight, we should rotate back to the day shift.

A storm is forming in the �four corners� region of the southwestern United States. In my 21 winters of fighting snow, the storms that have produced the heaviest snow have all formed in that area. The low-pressure system grabs onto Gulf of Mexico moisture, pulls it up as it tracks across the country from west to east, and dumps it over the Mohall area.

I could be in for a couple more rough days��.


It seems like NASA hasn�t been making as big a deal about the second Mars rover as they did the one that landed a week before it, but it has been sending so really amazing, clear photographs back to Earth ever since it started transmitting.

I have never been a big space nerd. I did see the original, black and white feed from Neil Armstrong�s first man on the moonwalk. My dad woke my sister and me up so we could see it. As bad as this footage was, I find it hard to believe it was shot in a studio in Arizona (as some people to this day claim happened).

In case you haven�t seen them, they are available at Nasa�s main website. Just click on the �Mars photo gallery� link on the right side of the main page.

I found this one especially interesting. For some reason, it is no longer posted in the gallery:

You think the government is trying to hide something from us?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top