Today's music?

The Darkness - "Permission to Land" (2003- Atlantic Records)..FINALLY- getting some press in America-great "retro" rock.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Feb. 07, 2004 - 9:26 p.m.

Another day in paradise�.

I wish I would have had that option, but I didn�t.

We ended up with 2� or so of new snow. Very dry, powdery snow that moved around in the 15-20 mph winds we had today.

Since my route is dead north/south, the northwest wind caused me an unbelievable amount of misery today. I only stopped the truck long enough to refuel and grab a Taco Bell� lunch.

Even with my non-stop driving, the route got away from me. The pavement warmed up enough around midday to cause the drift (traveling) snow to melt. This slowly built up into �black ice�. I applied salt and cinders at a high rate on these areas (800 pounds per mile, 3 times what I use on a light snow), but it just kept refreezing in the 18� cold.

By sunset, I had something like 10 cars in various locations in the ditches along my route. I was not alone (the south end of the county routes were just as bad, from what I heard).

I have had worse days in my 21 winters.

But right now, I can�t think of any of them that involved such a small amount of snow�...


One last bitch by me from today:

I stopped at a Quickie Mart� in the small town at the north end of my route. I wanted a bottle of fruit juice (apple, for those keeping score).

I brought my empty Taco Bell� drink cup inside with me. After grabbing the juice, I asked the woman behind the counter if I could fill my cup with a little ice from their fountain machine. She told me, �Sure, no problem>�

She lied.

When I took my stuff to the counter, I watched as she charged me $1.29 for the juice (high, but it was a gas station after all), and then .27� for the ice! IN MY OWN CUP, no less!

I was already tired from the long day (and long 3 weeks, for that matter), so I just looked at her. I finally said,�I didn�t even use one of your cups. Why didn�t you tell me you were going to charge me for the ice?�

She said, �Policy is policy. I have to account for all the ice and cups used.�

What could I do? I already had the ice in my cup. I just laughed and paid her the extra .27�.

It wasn�t until I was inside of my truck that something dawned on me- HOW does she keep track of the ice consumption? Check each purchase and estimate how much each cup contains?

No, she was just being a $5.15 per hour, power trippin� asshole.

I guess I won�t have to worry about filling their driveways with snow anymore, will I?

Whatever ends up in there will stay from now on. No sense in going out of my way to clear it out (like I do for everyone else, business or private home, after I get the road opened up).

If they charge customers .27� for frozen water (ice)that cost them all of .000001� to produce, they can afford to pay a private snowplow operator to clean up any snow that ends up in their lot from the clearing of the roadways, don�t you think?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top