Today's music?

Alexandra Slate - "Edge of a Girl" (2003- Hollywood Records)...this one keeps growing on me- check it out, if you can



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Feb. 08, 2004 - 7:45 p.m.

Our bed now looks like a BMX ramp�.plus- All all-star game suck, but none as much as the NFL version does ever year....

Hey look�I didn�t have to work today!

Nothing like a one day weekend to get you rested for another work week, eh?


I finally did the work to our old bed frame that my doctor has been on me to do for a few years now.

I have big time acid reflux disease. I think I have mentioned this here a few times before.

Up until a few years ago, Lease and I still slept on a king-sized waterbed. Very comfortable, but a constant problem with mattress replacements. When the latest plastic and foam sleep platform sprung a leak around Thanksgiving a few years back, I had finally had enough.

We have had the frame and various mattresses since the early 1980�s. The frame has six pull out drawers to keep your undies toasty warm. At least, when there was a heated mattress in there anyway.

Once I was diagnosed with chronic acid reflux, my doc started on me to replace the mattress. I did that when the Thanksgiving leak sprung about 3 years ago.

When that didn�t help my stomach, he went the next step. He said if I would just raise the end of the bed where our heads rested, the mornings of sour taste in my mouth would end. I held out as long as I could, but it was time.

Why?

Because I haven�t had a decent night of sleep for about 16 months.

Nobody ever said I wasn�t hard headed, did they?

So once I found out I wasn�t working again today (YEAH! �Bout time, don�t you think?), I talked it over with Lease. She told me I should do what I needed to raise the bed.

I watched my favorite basketball team (The Fighting Illini) beat the team I should be a fan of (Minnesota, since North Dakota is connected to that state, but they usually suck and my dad grew up a fan of the Illini, so I am too, but I digress), and then headed to the local Menards home improvement center.

I left there with $50 worth of plywood, and another $20 worth of hardware to build the flimsy frame of the old waterbed up to the proper elevation.

The bed is 6� wide by 7� long. Since plywood is cut in a standard 4� by 8�, that meant a little cutting. I did all I thought I needed outside, and then hauled the heavy �� thick wood upstairs.

Once in the bedroom, I realized I forgot to cut the 4 corners out (the waterbed frame has notches cut out in the 4 posts). I finished these cuts, and then mounted a 6� tall section I had cut from the 4� by 8� piece at the headboard. Onto this, I slid the two pieces of plywood. I then used L-shaped and corner brackets to make sure all of this plywood was firmly attached to the old waterbed frame.

I then slid the mattress onto the frame and�.

I was shocked by how high the whole thing now sits.

It took us about a month to get used to sleeping on a regular mattress after sleeping on water for about 12 years. I imagine this will take a little getting used to, also.

If I can go all night without waking up with the taste of stomach juices in my mouth, it will be worth it�.

By the way- in case you are young and are reading this- getting old sucks�.


Is there any less important professional all-star game than the NFL Pro Bowl?

I don�t think I have ever sat through more than 15 minutes of this �please don�t hit me hard enough to injure me� game in my lifetime.

I stopped on the game tonight while I was getting ready to take a shower. I left the game on ESPN for all of 10 minutes.

That might be a record for me.

The baseball all-star game is always worth the time. Nobody has to worry about getting their medial collateral ligament torn, after all.

The NFL game is always played the week AFTER the season ends. High drama�

All it amounts to is a free one week vacation in Hawaii for the players selected.

Good for them.

Just stay away from the beach football game. A few years back, there was a promising player from the New England who made the pro bowl his first season in the NFL named Robert Edwards. He was one of the best young running backs in all of football.

Was, that is.

He made the mistake of playing in a NFL-sponsored charity flag football game on a beach in Waikiki. He planted his feet, tried to make a move, and blew out his knee.

That was 1998. He was out of football for 4 years. After a ton of rehabilitation, he made a comeback in 2002 with the Miami Dolphins. Unfortunately for him, he only carried the ball 20 times that year. He was out of the game after that season.

So much for a week of fun and sun in Hawaii�.

BTW- when does spring training for baseball start again?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top