Today's music?

The Star Spangles - "Bazooka!!!" (2003 - Capito; Records) retro 70's rock from boys from NYC- and they are not The Stroke



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2004 - 9:40 p.m.

I didn�t think I would be writing this about a month ago, but�.

My favorite men�s college basketball team is actually enjoyable to watch.

That is the Illini, for those new to this �journal�.

After getting their butts kicked by Wisconsin 76-56 on January 24th, I had all but given up on this squad. They had begun the season with three of their players in legal trouble (for theft of another student�s person property, later dismissed), with a new coach that came in after a very popular coach left town for bigger money, and with the players who were on the floor fighting against the new coach�s system.

Even with all of those problems, they had managed to win most of their games. But they were as hard to watch as any team this school has put on the hardwood in my lifetime. The players just didn�t want to learn a whole new offense and defense, and you could tell that they were (at times) doing their own thing instead of what they were being taught.

After the humiliation at Madison, something important happened: they decided to actually listen to Coach Weber.

He showed them a game film of his former team (Southern Illinois) winning a game on the same day that they had lost of the Badgers. Watching other players still running his game plan (the new coach at SIU has kept Weber�s system in place), they were able to see what they had been missing.

Whatever it took, they got it.

Since then, they have gone 5-0 in a tough stretch in their Big Ten schedule. In the last two games, they have knocked off the team that was at the time in first place convincingly, and are now only � game out of first place themselves.

Tonight, they won a hard-fought battle 65-57. As they have in their last few games, the Illini�s defense pretty well shut down the star player from the other team.

Fun to watch.

After their first 15 games, I thought I would have to wait for next season to say that again�.


More good news from the sporting life (for me, anyway):

The Chicago Cubs signed Greg Maddux today, adding an older (he left the Cubs 12 years ago for the chance to win in Atlanta) but still very good pitcher to what is already the deepest pitching staff in baseball.

Not that I think they might win something important or anything (like their first World Series since 1908), but they should be competitive again�.


I know none of this means anything to anyone reading this (well, maybe San-D , or Zackal, but nobody else)

So- no more sports entries for a while.

Promise��.


I found a cd I have been looking for on eBay a couple of days ago, and placed a bid on it.

Won it for about half of what it usually goes for. It is kinda a collector�s item: out of print, and hard to find in any condition.

Since the seller only charges $1 for each extra cd you win, I went over what he had for sale. Placed bids on something like 25 cds at his opening bid price (.08 cents), and won 15 more at that price.

Yup- $1.08 per cd.

Most are by artists you probably haven�t heard of, but all sounded interesting when I read their reviews at The All Music Guide (like this album, for instance)

A couple more went for more than I wanted to pay, and I think 3 more I added to my bid to win myself.

Total purchase: 18 cds

Total cost, including shipping: $47.44

About $2.65 per cd.

You gotta love eBay��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top