Today's music?

Jet - "Get Born" (2003 - Elecktra Records)...best album by an Aussie band since Men At Work's "Business as Usual". Soun



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Feb. 19, 2004 - 7:31 p.m.

Warm enough to make you think winter is over, but we know better, don�t we? �plus- the leading candidate for �Dumbass of the Year� has been announced (no, not our governor- but he might make it there before the year is over ;)

The high temperature today was 57� F.

That�s about 20 degrees above the normal high for the 19th of February.

Predictably, the streets were full of motorcycles. That is the one true way to tell if it is warm in late winter. All bikers can�t wait for the first day they can take to the street.

I did see on Harley rider back in January. The high temperature that day was only 36�, and a steady rain was falling. I wrote that man off as being slightly off.

The neighborhood kids were all out on their Christmas bicycles, driving on open pavement for the first tiem since, well, about Christmas.

Which all leads to what I did on this first really warm day of the year:

I made sure all of the yellow and brown ice on the back patio was gone with my garden hose.

This has been building up since the day the freezing rain fell over the top of the light snow back in January. Once the ice formed, there was nothing I could do to remove it. I don�t use rock salt, because I see what it does to anything growing in the area. I have a hard enough time getting anything to cover the ground as it is.

The ice melt products that they sell at the local home improvement center would remove the ice, but I am not crazy about the pups getting that residue on their paws. It comes with warnings about damage to exposed skin on humans, so you can see why I don�t want to expose them to what it might do to them.

So, for the past 3 weeks or so, I have to try to scoop up whatever �solids� they leave behind. This isn�t always possible. And if you know what I can do to keep the yellow portion of the mess from building up, I would be glad to hear about it.

Thrilling subject, I know.

Another problem I have is caused by the location of our back yard. It faces to the north, and since we have a two-story house, it stays in full shade from late October until mid April. No help from the sun�s ultraviolet rays to sped up the process.

About half of the ice remained when I came home tonight. It took me a good 20 minutes of hose work, but I now have a clear patio.

Seems like a minor thing, but you can�t imagine how much this makes my life easier.

Little things can mean so much�.


Little Big Man gave his budget speech yesterday. Took him about 2 hours to say everything he wanted to say, too.

This man just loves to hear himself talk.

He said that �essential state services� would not be cut. He then said he was closing two of the largest prisons in North Dakota, and that anything not �social service related� will have to take cuts in their budget.

That would include us.

Plus, our 3-year contract is up in July. He has already told our union that we will have to pay more for all of our benefits, and to not expect a raise this year .

In other words, we will get a pay cut.

Sure am glad our union endorsed this man, and donated the maximun allowed by law to his campaign.,

That would be our dues money they donated, btw.

With the exception of his backers in Bismarck, this guy has found a way to piss off most everyone in the rest of the state. He has done this in only the first 13 months of his 4 year term, too.

Amazing.

One term and out for this guy.

That�s only if the fine folks of North Dakota don�t �Gray Davis� him before then��


Man, my entries keep getting duller and duller, don�t they?

My life can be soooo exciting.

But at least I am not Gary Barnett.

Who�s that, you might ask?

Barnett is the leading candidate for dumbass of the year (and it�s only February!) As of now, the coach of the University of Colorado has been placed on paid leave while the school looks into all of the possible violations and other stupidity that he has permitted wghile he has been at the school. This was only after he made the following statement about the only female player who played for him (who came out this week with allegations that she was raped while on the team, and that she didn�t turn the rapist in because she feared nobody on the football staff would believe or help her):

�"It's a guy's sport. (Players) felt like Katie was forced on them. It was obvious Katie was not very good. She was awful. You know what guys do? They respect your ability. I mean, you could be 90 years old, but if you could go out and play, they would respect you. Well Katie was a girl, and not only was she a girl, she was terrible."

His program is already under investigation for having strippers provided to high school athletes that the school was recruiting for the football program.

What a mope!

Constant stories like this almost makes me want to ignore sports and just work in the garden or fish all the time instead of following these spoiled idiots.

Almost, I said��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top