Today's music?

Jet - "Get Born" (2003 - Elecktra Records)...best album by an Aussie band since Men At Work's "Business as Usual". Soun



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Feb. 20, 2004 - 5:30 p.m.

Friday night, so I�ll keep this one short�

Nothing interesting happened today.

At least not in my small universe.

Moral is low at work, and with a steady light rain falling all day, not much was accomplished.

The state of North Dakota�s bargaining unit walked out on talks with the AFSME union�s representatives yesterday. It is beginning to look more and more like Governor Little Bigman�s goal is to lock out all of the union employees come July 1st. Just think of what he could then do- fire everyone (no contract, no union protection of full time employee�s jobs), and fill all of the positions with HIS PEOPLE that he OWES JOBS. Never mind that he is from the political party that claims it fights for the �working man�. Forget that many of us have given 20 or more years of service to the PEOPLE of this state (not him, even though he thinks the world revolves around him), missing holidays and family events at the drop of the first snowflakes.

What I said yesterday about him being a 1-term governor? If he tries to dump all of the AFSME and Teamster employees and go back to �the good old days�, when employees of this state did little work but made sure they campaigned for the man who gave them their jobs?

Definitely a �Gray Davis� situation. Or maybe even a Jimmy Hoffa, circa 1975 situation?

If the Teamsters did this to their own man, what would they do to a tinhorn dictator of a governor who takes their political contributions and then double-crosses the union members and its leadership?

That is a scary thought�..


Enough of my whining about the possibility that I will be unemployed in July. Can�t control the situation, so why worry about it now?

It is Friday, after all. The Downtown Mohall Mardi Gras is tomorrow night, and I won�t have to plow snow this year (like I had to in 2003).

This is supposed to be an upbeat �journal�, too. Not just a place for me to vent about my employer.

With that in mind, I will just leave you with a recent Rubes cartoon that made me smile:

I hope you could read the blurry print in the caption. If not, it reads �Despite his skillful playing, Benny would never truly master the game until he could perfect the art of poker tail�.

Having two out of three of our pups with long tails, I can appreciate this very much.

Any humor involving canine behavior brightens up my day.

With the way things have been at work lately, I have needed this kind of humor more and more�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top