Today's music?

eve to adam - "Auburn Slip" (2001 Mikendra Records ) Hard, heavy- good stuff that slipped throught the cracks last year....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Feb. 21, 2004 - 10:59 p.m.

Mohall ain�t New Orleans, but that don�t mean we can�t get ourselves into trouble�.

Wild and fun night.

For us old folks in North Dakota, anyway.

We made it up to the Greater Downtown Mohall Mardi Gras. To the one restaurant we wanted to eat at, anyway.

The band this year isn�t one of our favorites. They play mostly top 20 hits from the 50�s through the early 70�s.

Not my favorite period of time for music. Considering most of the songs were hits before I ever owned a transistor radio, they mean nothing to me.

Well, that�s not totally true- I have been stuck listening to oldies but moldies ever since the field office people moved into our storage back in January. Whenever we take break of lunch, we are serenaded by one of the technicians whistling along to The Supremes and Herman�s Hermits songs that I wish I didn�t know.

But I digress�..

The food was fine, but not up to the usually �best in town� level I expect from this restaurant.

All New Orleans related- mussels in white wine and garlic, seafood gumbo, chicken jambalaya, and something they called Louisiana pork hot wingers (made from slow cooked fresh pork hocks, basted in hot spices- very unique and good).

But not crawfish etouffee, which they always have had for this event in the past.

Lease managed to get several nice strands of Mardi Gras beads for the Lovely Chelsea from various wait staff and people she talked to, and criminally took a few extra strands off of the decorations in the restaurant.

I even bribed the bus boy (with a $10 bill) to give Chelsea his string of very large beads (or balls, as we kept referring to them as being).

Here are a couple of photos we took, once we came home (I totally forgot to take the camera along tonight. Yeah, I know- hard to believe with me, isn�t it?) Codeman and the Lovely Chelsea:

We decided to see how much the pups would tolerate with the beads.

Turns out- not much. I tried to capture quick frames with the dogs decorated, but they kept tossing the beads before I could even focus. This is about the only one that turned out:

Doesn�t Jay-dog just look so happy?


Instead of watching a band we didn�t care about (for another $10 per person, too), we went to the local bowling alley and rented a lane for an hour.

I think I might be banned from this place. Something about sneaking onto another lane (where a couple of Codeman�s friends were bowling) and throwing my ball when the gate was stuck down angered the management.

That, and my �backwards, between the legs� bowling technique.

I really don�t enjoy bowling, but everyone else wanted to go. I made the best (or would that be the worst?) of it.

I think I might have pissed off the owner of this alley back when I was about Codeman�s age, and for similar reasons.

Only difference was that time was fueled by weed, and this one was influenced by Miller Lite�.

Oh well- no police call, no foul�..


All in all, a very fun evening with Lease, the boy and the Lovely Chelsea.

Everything else about our time out is minor complaining.

I figure that this Saturday evening made up for the shitty Saturday I had 2 weekends ago, fighting the snow and black ice on my route.

Everything seems to even out over the long run, somehow��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top