Today's music?

Big Collapse - "Prototype" (2003- The Militia Group records)...great hard power pop- they remind me of someone else, but......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Feb. 22, 2004 - 9:19 p.m.

If every day fish were great, then there would be no challenge, would there?

At least, that�s what I told myself today after getting shut out.

Completely. Zero fish caught. And only a couple of very light bites in the couple of hours I spent pursuing finned creatures.

I do have a couple of excuses for the bad luck:

I stayed in town, fishing in Big Creek where it feeds into Lake Mohall. This can be a great early season bluegill/crappie location, but it wasn�t today.

We still need a decent rain to get this spot hopping. Right now, portions of the bank are still covered with up to 5 feet of thin ice, before you can reach open water. What water was moving was off-colored, and not moving very fast.

All in all, not the conditions you need to get the fish moving in from the lake and feeding.

I should have known things weren�t going to be good when I crossed the lake near my house. All of the areas that had been open earlier in the week had refroze. There were about 1000 seagulls flying over the dam area, looking for something to eat. These scavengers are on their way north on their spring migration, but I imagine they are wondering what happened to the warm weather that had spurred them this direction.

The basin that Big Creek feeds into was also frozen, and there were several ice sailboats zooming up and down over this wide, shallow section. With the small amount of water moving in the creek, there had to bee channels in the basin where the ice was week or very thin. If an iceboat slowed down or stopped in one of these areas, they would surely had slipped through the ice. You could drown this way, but only if you went in face fiurst and made no effort to stand up (or even sit up- the water is never deeper than 2� in the whole section).

But if iceboats are within 200 yards of where I want to find open water, I should have known there wouldn�t be a reason to wet my line.

I left the creek after 45 minutes, and headed to one other location that has produced for me since I was a teenager- the tower at Lake Mohall�s boat patrol. This is one of the deepest spots on the lake, and is kept ice-free all winter with the aid of electric aerators (to protect the steel beams of both the tower and nearby boat docks). A slowly moved vertical jig, tipped with wax worms, has landed me many nice crappies through the years.

But not today. Not even a bite, for that matter.

I gave it my best shot, but after 30 minutes of nothing but numb fingers (the wind coming off the nearby ice at 15 mph didn�t make things any better), I called it a day.

This area was holding several thousand waterfowl of many varieties, all stopping on their way North too. This made the day worth the effort, since the fish didn�t cooperate. Seeing some of the ducks that only pass through a few days each spring and fall is always a nice bonus.

Didn�t have a camera with me. Again.

The conditions were so drab and gray when I left the house, I didn�t think I would see anything worth shooting. As I was last night, I was wrong.

Catching glimpse of redhead, canvasback, or blue winged teal wasn�t something I expected. If I had, the digital would have been with me.

Maybe next week, before they move along, I can get back down to Lake Mohall with camera and tripod in hand.

If I do, you will get to see what I saw today��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top