Today's music?

.38 Special - "Flashback" (1987 A&M records) A "greatest hits" collection (don't want to own the "whole" albums from



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Feb. 28, 2004 - 11:13 p.m.

Music news (involving me, that is�)

It�s Saturday night, and it�s getting late.

Late for an old fart like me, anyway.

So I won�t keep you long.

I used to post my sad excuse for cd reviews here on Saturdays. I don�t imagine anyone out there remembers that, but I did. Tried to pick out my favorite albums from my 30+ year old collection of music. Spent a little time analyzing why I liked the album I chose for review. Boooorrrrinng for y�all, I know.

So I just stopped.

I haven�t ignored my favorite music here- I just started using the �alternate field #1� area to let you know what I am listening to, more or less, every time I write an entry. Usually, whatever I list there is what I have in the cd drive on the computer when I was typing my entry. Sometimes, it�s just whatever is in my truck�s cd player.

But anyway��

I have a couple music related things to relay to y�all.

#1. I will be attending an actual live concert involving major musicians inside of a concert hall in May. For the first time in about , oh, 20 years.

It�s not that I haven�t seen any live music in that time frame. Just none in a real , indoor concert setting.

Who?

How about Aerosmith.

And.

Cheap Trick.

At the same concert? Yes.

Have I seen them live before?

Cheap Trick, yes. Aerosmith, no. Seems like every time Steven Tyler and company rolled through in the past, I just didn�t go. Considering several of those concerts involved musicians passing out from taking too many drugs, maybe I didn�t miss much.

Now that all of us (bands and myself) are old, drugs don�t ruin the event anymore. My good friend Zackal called me up a few weeks ago, and asked me if I would be interested in dropping $60 a seat to see these two bands in one show, and I said, �sure, why not?�.

Lease didn�t think she could get off of work for the night of the show, so Codeman decided he wanted to go with us, too. He might be the only person in attendance there who is under the drinking age. I have a t-shirt of his, signed by both Rick Nielson and Robin Zander (of Cheap Trick, if you didn�t already know) from a concert we all went to back in the early 1990�s, Long story- I will sum it up by saying that we were next to the stage, Nielson noticed Codeman rockin� away at the stage (he might have been 8 years old at the time), and he sent a roadie out after the show to ask if we wanted an autograph. He took Codeman�s Chicago Bulls t-shirt backstage, and brought it back a few minutes later with both of their signatures, along with a doodle Rick drew next to his name.

Very cool.

It is on a hanger in the back of our extra closet, and it has never been washed since that night (in case the ink might not be permanent). Codeman can take it with him whenever he moves out down the road.

So , you can see why he wanted to go to this concert with his old dad, right?

Zackal managed to get in early at Ticketmaster, and go us front row of the upper deck seats in the Peoria Civic Center in Peoria, Illinois. That is as close as they will be playing to Mohall, so we will drive the 10 hour drive just to see this show.

I think it will be worth it�.


#2. It was reported in the Mohall Tribune last week that two of the bands for this August�s Mohall Celebration had leaked out (even thought the organizers didn�t want this to happen- they like to keep it top secret until June, for some stupid reason) due to the Internet.

I was somewhat surprised by the bands they mentioned. Both were big in the 1990�s. This will be the first major acts to come to Mohall from that recent a vintage.

Who?

The Gin Blossoms (remember �Hey Jealousy� and �Found Out About You�?)

And Presidents of the United States of America (�lump�? And �Peaches�, which I even quoted in an entry, a few years back)

Neither are on my Top Ten all time list (as last year�s band The Outfield�s �Play Deep� would be), but both are bands I am looking forward to seeing.

Free, btw.

And on separate nights, too. That means we can watch both bands play both of their sets, if we feel like it.

Hey, this is North Dakota.

These bands were too big to play here just a few years ago.

Now we get to watch them in the beer-stained streets of our Podunk town, surrounded by seriously drunk locals trying to remain upright, and all it costs us is the gas it takes to drive uptown.

That is pretty cool, if you ask me��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top