Today's music?

.38 Special - "Flashback" (1987 A&M records) A "greatest hits" collection (don't want to own the "whole" albums from



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Feb. 29, 2004 - 7:29 p.m.

Happy �extra day of work for no pay� day 2004 �.plus- photos of the earliest blooms of the year, along with my Cole crop bedding plants�

Yes, today is �Leap Year Day�.

The once-every-4-years addition to the calendar to keep us from slipping into having winter in July (kids- ask your parent to explain this fact to you).

I have two Leap Year connections in my life.

#1.- I have a distant cousin who was born on Leap Year day back in 1960. His side of the family celebrated his birthday every year, but made a special issue out of each leap year. I remember this, because when he turned 16, his family posted signs saying it was his 4th birthday.

That can mess with your mind, when you are only 4, 8, or 12. But by the time he was 16, I think he didn�t care anymore�.

#2.- My snowplowing partner at work (Sef) got married in Las Vegas on Leap Year day 8 years ago. He and his wonderful wife (Georgia) are in Las Vegas again as I type this, celebrating their 8th (or is it 2nd) anniversary right now.

The downside to Leap Years?

If you are a salaried employee (as I am), that means you get to work for one extra day this year WITHOUT GETTING PAID FOR IT!

That�s right- because of the calendar correction, you get to put an extra 8 hours of labor at your workplace without getting one thin dime for you effort.

It would have hit me harder if the 29th of February were a workday, but it�s not.

Today was a very nice day for late February. The high temperature was again in the low 60�s. Lease and I took the two big boys for a walk, and I didn�t even need a coat. I painted about 200 jig heads outside, and they dried in just a short amount of time. We even opened several of out windows, to bring fresh air into the house.

All in all, not a bad Leap Year day.

I still feel like I should be able to goof off all day tomorrow, since somewhere in this time frame I will be working all day for no pay�.


To put you in a more spring-like mood, I decided to show you how my early season gardening efforts have come out for me.

First photo is of a pot full of snow crocus bulbs, forced to bloom early in a flower pot in my garden, and then brought inside:

This isn�t a huge improvement over what nature has provided us here in Mohall. The earliest snow crocus blooms just started to open in the soil along the sidewalk out front this morning. So I only beat nature by a few days. I could have beaten that if I had remembered to bring the flowerpots with forced bulbs in earlier. But I forgot about them until a few days ago.

These didn�t beat nature by much, but the tulips and daffodils that are growing in other pots on the side porch will beat their in-ground counterparts by several weeks or more.

I hope.

I will show you, if they do�


This shot shows you how much I have growing under the fluorescent tubes on this date:

The top shelve contains a mixed flat of Cole crops and other Dixie Cups� full of seedlings, along with a couple of the forced pots of bulbs and three flowering Maple plants (which should start blooming next week- I will post a shot here if they do). The bottom shelve has a flat full of broccoli, cabbage, and cauliflower. Oh yeah- all of my onion plats started from seed. I have good and bad luck using this method. If I want to grow anything besides generic �sets� or plants from the fields of Texas, I have to start them this way. They all look real good right now, so fingers crossed, I will have some hybrid varieties I can�t buy at the garden centers locally.

This shot shows a close-up view of my Chinese cabbage and broccoli plants.

If you can read the tags, let me know what they say. I try to write where my handwriting is legible, but by the time I am ready to put the plants in the ground, I have no idea what I wrote on the �mini-blind slat cut into tag sized pieces�.

Oh well- I can eat or give away all of whatever I grow, so nothing gets wasted (even if I am not sure what the varieties are)��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top