Today's music?

Superdrag - "Last Call for Vitrol" (2002 - ARRCO Records)...hard-edged power pop- think Matthew Sweet



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Mar. 02, 2004 - 5:04 p.m.

So, what exactly does a Flowering Maple (Abutilon Hybridum) look like anyway?

Glad you asked.

The first bloom on one of my seedlings opened today, about 7 weeks after I started these touchy annuals from seed. I thought that they took a long time to grow from seed, so I started them back in January.

No, that�s not why I started them back in January.

I started them because I was sick of the boring winter we were experiencing, and wanted to stick my fingers into a little soil.

Yeah, that�s why.

Anyway�.

They have grown much faster than I thought they would. I transferred all of the seedlings that sprouted (5 plants in all) into used African violet pots (the throw-away plastic ones they sell the plants in), and have kept them under the grow lights for the last 5 weeks or so.

Here is the first bloom of the spring that is not attached to a bulb planted last fall:

Yes, that is a confused Christmas cactus, in full bud and bloom to the Maple�s right. It was purchased for the holidays in 2002, set out a lame amount of blooms this Christmas, and is now just covered with dark carmine red blooms.

Why did it decided to bloom heavy this late in the winter?

Wish I knew. It is not the only Christmas cactus I have re-blooming this winter. Just the one with the most flowers on it.

Here is a close-up shot of the Maple's golf ball-sized bloom :

This color is something between the shades of coral/ salmon and pink.Kinda reminds me of a small hibiscus bloom.

By the time the warm weather sets in, I will have to transfer these plants into much bigger pots. I also started a few more of these seeds with my last batch of bedding plants. If they grow as well as these did, I will set a bunch of them into Lease�s flowerbeds�.


Oh yeah, one more thing:

I have bought Lease Flowering Maple plants before. They were about the same size as this one, and set me back something like $3.50 each.

That is why I wanted to see if they could be grown from seed.

Obviously, they can, and pretty easily, too.

How much did the seeds set me back?

$.95, marked down � off last fall from the list price of $1.89 at a local garden center. There had to be at least 100 seeds in the packet, too.

At $3.50 retail each, maybe I ought to try to sell them on eBay or something�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top