Today's music?

Superdrag - "Last Call for Vitrol" (2002 - ARRCO Records)...hard-edged power pop- think Matthew Sweet



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Mar. 04, 2004 - 7:36 p.m.

More surprises from my favorite college basketball team�plus- I can use both of my index fingers again, but you might laugh at how I have accomplished this feat�.

Hey, guess who is the men�s Big Ten basketball champion this year?

For the third time in the last 4 years?

Yes, after the Wisconsin Badgers pulled out an unexpected overtime win at East Lansing on Tuesday, the door was opened to allow my Illini a chance to clinch the title with a win themselves on Wednesday night. This was not an easy task, considering they had to play Purdue at the Boilermaker�s home court. That, and the fact that they had lost to Purdue back in January, and that game was played at home.

The good guys raced out to an 11 point lead, but I knew that wouldn�t last long. They actually blew that lead before the first half was over, and came back to take a 2 point lead at the break. Purdue came out on fire in the second half, and pulled ahead by 7 before the Illini woke up and made a game of it.

It was as close as can get at the end of regulation- tied at 69. On to overtime.

The lead changed hands a couple of times early in overtime, but then the Illini pulled ahead by 6 with about a minute to go in the period. Purdue then picked up a pair of three point plays to tie it back up at 79 with just 8 seconds to play. The Illini point guard quickly moved the ball down the court to a forward who was open ender the basket, who got off a lay up that was blocked right into the hands of another Illini guard. He quickly put another layup off the glass and in to seal the win with .9 seconds left:

After the same player who made the winning basket stole the inbound pass, the celebrating began.

The worst they can now do is end up tied for first place, but that will only happen if they somehow stumble and loose Sunday against Ohio State. The Illini will be heavy favorites, since the Buckeyes are having a down year and are in 9th place in the conference. The last time these two teams meet, they lost to the Illini by 20-something around a month ago in Champaign.Nothing is a "sure thing", but they really should win this game. If they do, they will have earned their first "outright" Big Ten championship since 1952! I'm old, but I wasn't even born at that time...

Never would have thought they had this in them, the way they started the Big Ten season. Loosing at home (for the first time in over three years) to Purdue, and only 3-3 after their first 6 games, they looked to be going nowhere. But since the embarrassing loss at Wisconsin in late January, they have reeled off 9 straight wins.

Good for them�..


The cut on my index finger continued to cause me problems today. I caught the loose tab of skin a couple of times (once in the fur on Sprout�s belly, of all things), and each time the bleeding started all over again.

I showed the cut to Joe D. Mechanic today, and he told me that is was too loose to heal on its own. He said he knew of something that could fix my problem, without having to go to the doctor.

Super Glue.

I remember reading a while back that the stuff they use in the emergency room for these kinds of problems was almost the exact same formulation as the $1.00 a tube glue available in the local hardware store, but I had never had any reason to try it on myself. Joe showed me where he had used a drop on a cut he had picked up on his pinky last week, and how well it had worked. He thought he had a tube in his van, but he couldn�t find it.

So, on the way home tonight I stopped at the local Walgreens and bought a couple of tubes of gel-type Super Glue. Once home, I opened the tube, put a small glob of the glue on the tip of a wooden pop sickle stick, and applied it to the flap of skin. I held it down for about 15 seconds, and then�..

No more easy-open top on my finger. And, for some reason, this deadened the pain, too. Maybe it was the air hitting the exposed flesh? I don�t know. I am now typing again without having to use my middle finger on my left hand. That�s a good thing�

Sounds like a farmer�s repair, but it seems to be working. If you think I am crazy, read this article about the use of glue to repair cuts.

At least I won�t be dripping blood everywhere from this annoying cut.

And if my finger rots and falls off, you will be the first to know��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top