Today's music?

Grand Drive - "Grand Drive" (2003 - BMG Music) Country-fied rock, somewhat like Wilco or Nineteen Wheels....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2004 - 8:46 p.m.

What�s wrong with this shopping trip? I can think of a million things�.

This is just too funny!

If you haven�t heard the million dollar shopper story, you can click on the link above to read the full article. You really have to wonder about the woman�s education level, if she actually believed her husband had given her a real $1,000,000 bill for a present.

The lunchtime news flashed her mug shot (from after the Wallyworld folks had her arrested), and I swear she has smiling.

I guess she realized that this was her only chance at getting 15 minutes of fame�..


The other thing that surprised me about the story was that she carted up something like $1,600 worth of merchandise at said Wallyworld, and then took the cart and her $1,000,000 bill to the checkout. The report said she asked them if they could break the bill for her.

What surprised me was that she didn�t just try to buy a pack of Doublemint�, and ask for the change�.


The yearly Consumer Reports� auto buying guide was in my mailbox this evening.

A coincidence?

I think not.

I checked out what they had to say about both the Santa Fe and the Vibe, expecting the worst.

They loved them both, and even gave the Vibe their �recommended� seal of approval.

Must be because of the Toyota engineering. They NEVER like anything made by Pontiac.

Or most any American car manufacturer, for that matter.

I took the heavy stock, brightly colored brochure for the Vibe (that I picked up at the dealer yesterday) to work. Since I work in an all-male environment (San-D is stuck in the small storage to the south this winter. There is a woman who is a tech with the folks in the temporary field office set up in our break room, but they keep to themselves, so yes, I can say I work in an all-male environment�..wait- what was I writing about? Oh yeah, the car�s brochure), I thought I would see if what the salesman told me yesterday was true:

Guys love the car at first sight. Women don�t like it until the get behind the wheel.

He has the �guys� portion of the Vibe correct. Anyone who looked at the photos (and that I asked their opinion on the car) said they would like to have one for themselves.

The 0.0% financing ends on the 31st of this month. I don�t want to rush things, because my long-term employment situation is still (somewhat) up in the air.

Maybe I will know by then if Governor Little Bigman is planning on breaking our union, or if we will have made any progress in our quadrennial negotiations for a new contract. This is the first time in the 21+ years I have worked for the NDDOT where these negotiations have going so poorly. He (Little Bigman) thinks he is scoring points with the non-employees of the sate by bad mouthing us on a daily basis, and by threatening to cut our employee count and such.

Most people can see right through what he is doing- all they have to do is read the news about how many people his motley crew has �appointed� to jobs that didn�t even exist before he became Governor. He wants to fill as many jobs as possible with insiders from Bismarck, as paybacks for the work they did getting him elected.

Like I said before�.

Our union helped this twerp get elected to office. Gave him the maximum allowed by North Dakota law.

They didn�t do this to have him break the union, so he could fill the jobs with patronage workers, just like things were in the bad old days.

Someone is probably quietly whispering this information into his ear, as the negotiations drag on�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top