Today's music?

Dramarama - "Vinyl" (1991- Chameleon records) somehow, I missed this great band back when they came out.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Mar. 18, 2004 - 5:35 p.m.

The start of a college basketball junkie�s dream�.

Yes, today is the first day of the NCAA college basketball tournament. Since the games start at 11:15 North Dakota time, and the last game of the day ends at around midnight, that doesn�t leave me much time for much of anything else.

No, I didn�t take time off to watch the games today. I won�t tomorrow, either, even thought the Illini play at 11:24.

I was able to watch 30 minutes if the Manhattan upset of Florida at lunchtime today, and then kept up with the rest of the games by listening to the radio. I could have used the excuse that the breakroom needed cleaning to stay close to the television, but I didn�t.

That�s for tomorrow. The floor really needs some attention in there. I think I could get it polished properly in, oh, I don�t know- a little over 2 hours on the clock?

That would be about the amount of time it takes to play the Illinois / Murray State game, I suppose�


Why don�t I just burn 4 hours of p.b., and go home to watch the game?

Because it is a first round game, and the Illini are favored to win by 9 � points.

So either they win easily (why waste 4 hours on that), they win a close game (which would put me in a bad mood), they lose a close game (worse mood), or get their butts kick (don�t even want to go there).

It seems like every time they make the tourney, they get stuck playing their first game in the late morning hours. I have taken afternoons off for the purpose of watching the game, but just don�t feel like it this time around.


For the first time in about 25 years, I didn�t fill out a �bracket� for the tournament and put it into an office pool.

For the past 5 or so years, I was they one who gathered up the sheets and money, and kept track of who won.

With all of the changes at work (less basketball fans), and with Governor Little Big Man just TRYING to find a reason to fire us, I thought this was a good time to stop this tradition.

It�s probably for the best anyway. I always do poorly in these things, and the winner is always someone who doesn�t even watch basketball.

I remember one year a while back, Whitey was in 1st place until the very last game. And all he picked were teams that were from places he had either gone to on vacation, or planned to someday.

He might have watched 1 or 2 Illini games that winter. And he almost won the pot.


I have to find time to cram dinner in before the next games tip off (I am a junkie, after all), so I�ll leave you with another of the pots filled with bulbs forced to bloom:

These are pink hyacinth. I would have preferred the more masculine dark purple ones, but these were all that was left in the reduced-to-get-rid-of-them bulbs (3 for .50� , I think).

There isn�t a flowering bulb that smells better than hyacinth. This small pot of flowers fills the dining room with its perfume.

I also have a very small pot with tiny Dutch iris , and a single white daffodil in another . Might have to use them the next couple of days, so as I don�t have to cut into my hoops addiction�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top