Today's music?

Blinker the Star - "August Everywhere" (1999 SKG Music) Jordan Zadorozny is a musical genius....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004 - 8:04 p.m.

A very busy Sunday (for us, anyway)�plus a couple of photos from the biggest indoor pepper farm in the western hemisphere�.

I think we might have accomplished more this Sunday that in any other Sunday in the past couple of years.

What did we do today?

Slept in until 9 am.

That�s a good start, if you ask me.

Lease had assembled a egg-based casserole yesterday. That meant I didn�t have to get up and cook a big meal for brunch.

That�s also a good way to start a weekend day, IMHO.

The local Menards store was due to close Monday. They have built a massive �super Menards� north of the present store. It is completed, awaiting shipments from both the local closed store and corporate headquarters.

Since they don�t have their own shipping firm, they have to pay somebody to move whatever is left in the old store. Rather than loose a bunch of money that way, they had a slow reduction of prices of remaining stock for the last 4 weeks or so.

Today was the last day.

Everything left in the building was reduced by 40%.

With a sale like that, we had to check what remained in the building.

Not much, it turns out.

We rummaged through the slim Pickens, and ended up buying $65.54 worth of stuff we didn�t even know we needed before we walked into the store.

I guess I should change �we� to �I�, because everything that ended up in the cart was stuck to my sticky fingers. I managed to find enough small nuts and bolts to refill my cheap pullout drawer cabinet. I also picked up a new birdbath water heater (for winter- my old one is 8 years old and has started tripping the GFI plugs on a regular basis this year), several packages of AA and AAA batteries for little to nothing.

Oh yeah, and several hand garden tools (trowels and cultivators) made of aluminum. These will replace the ones I lost at work somehow, and will give me an extra one of each for the lower garden.

In other words- I bought a bunch of stuff I really didn�t need, but couldn�t pass up at almost half off. None of the things I bought end up marked down on a regular basis, so I guess you can�t say I blew money.

Right?


Kansas lost today. Duke won.

So at least one game made me happy. Since Bill Self (the former Illini coach) skipped town for the big bucks at Jayhawk land, I didn�t want him advancing much further than his old team. Considering the fact that Kansas had made the final four two of the last three years, I guess you have to say this season was a disappointment for �Rock, Chalk, Jayhawk!� nation, right?

Duke pulled out a late win against Xavier. They were behind most of the game, but managed to get things together long enough to slip by the Musketeers by 6.

When St. Josephs lost last night, the remaining team I wanted to win left the tourney. I guess I have to pull for Oklahoma State the rest of the way (since they beat St. Joe, and because I kinda like their coach).

Not much excitement left here in Casa Roadiepig for this much anticipated yearly tournament.

Oh well- at least I won�t be missing sleep on weekdays for late basketball games anymore�


I really need to spend a little time explaining the new, massive indoor pepper farm here in this �journal�.

But not tonight. The latest episode of The Sopranos starts in just a few minutes.

So I will just leave you with a couple of photos. They do a pretty good job showing you how really huge this facility is:

The strings run from floor to ceiling. They are to support the growing plants as they reach the sky. Since the first peppers aren�t due to be harvested until late next month, they have a ways to grow�

These plants are being grown in some sort of spun-volcanic rock medium, all hydroponically.

You want a better explanation of how this works? Surf the web. I have no more information that what I read on the various signs posted around the greenhouse.

Suffice to say- this is one high-tech operation.

And the peppers should be in your local grocery store by May. It�s about time we grow our own, instead of importing them from Holland and Israel.

Not that I have anything against those countries.

If we can grow them ourselves, why pay someone else to do it for us?

And the fact that the profits will be heading back to the Mohall area is a plus, too��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top