Today's music?

Blinker the Star - "August Everywhere" (1996 SKG Music) Jordan Zadorozny is a musical genius....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Mar. 29, 2004 - 9:05 p.m.

A surprise, reading the liner notes of a new cd�..plus- a few more photos from the pepper farm, and a link worth checking out�..

If you have stopped by here a time or two, you know that I am somewhat a music fanatic. Even though at 42 and should be happily numbing my brain, listening to one of those �classic rock� or �oldies� stations, reminiscing about my teenage years, I don�t.

I continually look for new music that challenges me, excites me, or just makes me sit and listen to it. Sometimes it will be something that I hear about on the web or read about in Spin or Rolling Stone magazine. Sometimes, it�s from a tip one of you give me, either in your D-land pages or in an email.

Sometimes, it�s because I find something on an eBay auction or Half.com seller that sounds interesting . How do I find out if something might appeal to me, even if I have never heard of the artist?

Because I check reference guides like the All Music Guide. The people who review so many obscure musicians know something good when they hear it. Even if they don�t like something too much, the review might convince me that I might like it anyway.

Such was the case with their review of Blinker the Star�s third album, �August Everywhere� (1999 � SKG records). They only gave it 3 stars, but still found things they liked about it.

Here is the end of the review (hopefully, I won�t get sued for cutting and pasting it here):

All the pieces are in place for a very good album, then. Except August Everywhere doesn't quite connect, at least in the way that it should. It feels technically perfect, but the hooks aren't really memorable and it doesn't really make much of an overall impact. It does begin to grow with repeated listens, but the culminative impression remains of an album that feels stronger than it actually is.

Since I was able to pick this cd up for .08 � (plus $1.25 shipping), I took a chance on it.

I have been playing this disc in heavy rotation for over a week now. Just a good album- not groundbreaking, but still very well written and performed.

Most of the instrumentation and all of the songwriting are done by one individual- Jordon Zadorozny. After recoding the album, he ended his association with the Blinker the Star name, and hasn�t recorded any new material under that or his own name.

Like I wrote in the description for the album (over there in the left hand column)- he is a musical genius (IMHO).

Pop sensibilities, sounding familiar at first listen but finding more depth with each play, this is a album I can highly recommend.

End of pontificating.

Anyway�today, I was at my desk, doing what I do for a living, and I put another cd that I have been playing to death into my portable player. This album ( �We Were Born a Flame� (2003 � Universal Records), by Canadian singer-songwriter Sam Roberts, has some of the same characteristic as the aforementioned Blinker the Star disc.

Lush but enjoyable rock arraignments, accessible from the first listen (also being vaguely familiar yet unique), this is another album I have been trying to get my friends to listen to since I bought it back in December.

I decided to pull the liner notes out and read a little more about Sam Roberts while listening to the disc. I skipped the lyrics (having read a couple of the song�s wordings in the past), and went straight to the credits.

Short story long- the producer of this cd is the same Jordan Zadorozny of Blinker the Star!

Like there is another Jordan Zadorozny out there in the music business.

He also performed several instruments on some of the songs, and even put his brother Corey on several tracks as a background vocalist.

So how�s that for a strange coincidence- two albums by musician I (and most likely you) have never heard of, and both connected to one under appreciated, unknown but talented performer.

And I picked both discs up via the Internet.

You find copies of either album in the bargain bin at your local record store, you would do yourself a favor picking them up.


This short video was recommended in today�s Top Five Newsletter:

If you don�t find yourself at least smiling (if not laughing at loud) at the dance routine this woman and her Golden Retriever perform ( to �You Better Shape Up�, from the musical �Grease�) , then you must not love dogs.

Even if you don�t like dogs, you should check it out anyway. One smart dog, that�s all I am saying�


Here are a few more of the photos that I took at the Giant Pepper Farm North of Mohall Saturday.

Nothing special about them- I just liked the grand scale of things in this huge building, and thought you might like to see what I saw:

This shot shows the attack being waged on the pepper plants by whiteflys and aphids

I think the aphids were winning on this plant�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top