Today's music?

Tidewater Grain - "Here on the Outside" (2000 - Rufnation Records)...these boys ROCK! Something like STP, but without the he



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Apr. 05, 2004 - 9:16 p.m.

I hear you knockin�/ but you can�t come in�

Take your pick- Fats Domino (1956?), Dave Edmunds (1970), or The Fabulous Thunderbirds (1981).

Or about 40 other versions of this classic song (I like Edmunds the best).

But I didn�t title this entry that way for a music trivia question.

Last night, Lease and I were watching a little TV in bed, unwinding for the upcoming workweek. It was around 9:30.

Tony Bonehead was downstairs, and for some reason he started his �I am the watchdog� bark. At first, I just figured there was a cat , possum, or some other creature in the front yard. This can send him into a barking jag, but he usually stops rather quickly.

Not this time. His intensity increased enough to cause Jay-dog (who was once asleep at the end of the bed) to join in.

I figured I better see what was getting them going, so I went to the computer room (it faces the front of the house), and looked outside.

Even with the porch light turned off, I could see what was bothering the boys. A rather large man was standing out at the end of our walkway on the sidewalk, and he was having some sort of animated discussion with himself, waving his arms in the air and speaking loudly to himself.

I hurried down the stairs to turn the porch light on, and just as I reached for the light switch a loud pounding erupted on the front door. This sent Tony into frenzy-mode, barking loudly at the person now pounding on our door.

I looked into the peephole to see what he wanted, and was greeted by his eyeball , staring back at me.

Almost made me jump. Almost.

I yelled (in my deepest voice)�What do you want?�

He said ,�I�be looookin� fo sum beasum barsdgwen fo jubsum�.

Or something like that.

I told him, �I can�t help you. You don�t want to meet my dogs. You want the house next door, not here�.

He said something like, �naww, man- yo gots (something something something- I have no idea what he said) man�.

I just yelled back at him, � Next door. Go next door. What you want is not here, man�

With that, Tony increased the volume of his barking enough to cause Mushmouth to turn and run off of the porch.

I went to the dining room window, and Codeman finally came downstairs to see what was going on. We watched the door knocker walk down the sidewalk until he was in front of the (TA DA!) Drug Dealer Neighbor�s house.

He shook his head in the universal sign for �NO!�, and walked further down the sidewalk. Something must have clicked in his pea-sized head, or D.D.N. yelled out the side door at him- something. Whatever it was, he ran into the D.D.N.�s house.

He was inside for about 10 minutes.

Yes, I watched to see what would happen next.

He came out, and all but ran to his junky old Toyota, and had the car started and moving in about 1.2 seconds flat.

Whatever he was in bad need of must have been available to him inside D.D.N.�s house.

Just what I want- strung out cokeheads, pounding on my door because they can�t remember the address of the dealer�s house.

D.D.N. seems to be home every weekend now, so he must be getting out for work release or unsupervised visits or something. That is when the traffic picks up, and all of the fine, upstanding citizens who frequent his business seem to be coming around.

Again.

The detective who lives on the other side of us surely has noticed the increase in traffic too.

It�s just a matter of time until the S.W.A.T. team makes another appearance��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top