Today's music?

Skunk Anansie - "Post Argasmic Chill" (1999- Virgin Records) Hard rock, with an angry-sounding black woman singing the lead ..



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Apr. 08, 2004 - 8:50 p.m.

What a fucked up �walk� we had this evening�

Today, work was the usual unfulfilling, mind numbing, and paycheck earning routine.

I came home, and decided to take the two big boys for their walk by myself. Lease is feeling much better (thanks to those who asked), but I knew she wasn�t up to being drug by a leash by Tony Bonehead. Since supper involved cooking a Pagalia�s sandwich (and the bread was already baked), I figured I had plenty of time. A good two-armed workout was in order.

Little did I know what was ahead of me�


I took the digital with me, so I could take a few photographs of blooming trees (and anything else that caught my eye). Now, a sane person (which I am not, obviously) wouldn�t try to take photographs while walking two dogs that each weighs over 75 pounds.

I managed to shoot a few shots of a flowering Magnolia tree that has caught our eyes each time we took the boys for a walk in the past week. I grew up calling these trees �flowering tulip trees�, but that was (obviously) the wrong name. The scientific name is magnolia soulangian�

You ever try to shoot a photograph while holding on to two leashes attached to two very large, strong dogs? No, I imagine nobody has ever done that before today.

Meanwhile��

(How about that? I wrote something besides �anyway�� today!)

I took the usual uphill route. This walk takes about 35 minutes at full doggy-pace, as long as we aren�t interrupted in any way.

Today, both my photography, and a dog that got off of its tie-down interrupted us.

The loose dog was the first major problem. The rat terrier (or Jack Russell- I always get those two mixed up) is at about the halfway point of this course. He is always attached to a short tie-down, and stands on his back legs whenever we pass his home. Today for some reason, he was loose. I think his owner had just came home, and was in the process of putting him out when�.

He decided to bolt over to where we were walking on the sidewalk. Jay-dog ignored him, but Tony really wanted to play with him. The only problem was the terrier wanted to prove how big he was, and tried to pick a fight with the Bonehead.

They say dogs have no concept of size, and this small dog proved it. He thought he could win a fight with a dog 8 (or more) times his size. The owners of this yip-yip dog took a good 5 minutes corralling their fleabag. All the while, I was stuck holding both big dogs back by their harnesses.

Talk about an unexpected workout. My arms are still sore from this stupid encounter.

And that wasn�t the worst of this walk. It was yet to come.

We made our way back less than a block from home. A homeowner was using his Weedeater to trim the edges of the grass growing along the sidewalk, so we crossed over to a side of the street we NEVER walk on, and for good reason.

The owner of the house on the corner has two large white dogs of unknown parentage. I think the biggest one is a yellow Lab mix, but I�m not sure. Every time I turn the corner on our block (at the start of our walk), these two mutts jump on top of their owner�s plastic picket fence, and bark their heads off at my dogs. I figured they were just communicating, not being aggressive.

Today, I learned otherwise.

The dogs weren�t in view as I approached the fenced yard, but quickly ran to the area where we were walking. I thought I had the big boys far enough away from the fence, but�

The biggest mutt leapt on top of the fence, and he managed to snap his mangy mouth down on Tony�s inquiring snout before I could pull him away.

That�s right- I wasn�t able t keep my friendly, harmless dog (actually, my boy�s friendly, harmless dog) far enough away from being bit by a mutt with anger management problems.

This all happened in a fraction of a second. Tony didn�t respond to the attack (I think he was ready to play with the mutt, not knowing that the other dog had social skill problems). I didn�t think know was even injured, until we were indoors.

That�s when I noticed the three puncture wounds to his snout.

I knew Codeman wouldn�t be happy about this. Tony is a VERY slow healer. After the auto hit him (before Codeman adopted him, and when he was just a puppy), he hasn�t been able to bounce back from small injuries. His back leg (where he was hit) can get scuffed open, and it takes weeks for what another dog would takes days to heal.

I went back to the owner (he was on the porch next door when this happened), and asked him if his dogs had all of their shots. He assured me they had, and told me any medical bills that came from this he would gladly pay.

Codeman works for a Vet. There wouldn�t be any bills, but he didn�t know that at the time.

I told him no problem, and that I just wanted to make sure about the shots. His wife (BTW) was the neighbor who tried to help me break up the dogfight last fall.

Small world (or is that �small neighborhood�?)

Tony is fine. Codeman cleaned the damaged area, and put some sort of anti-biotic on the wound.

He also told me he didn�t want me walking his dog anymore.

He later told me he was kidding.

I am not laughing right now. I feel terrible about what happened, but I also know both of the big boys need to go for walks to get enough exercise. The only way that will happen is if I (or Lease and I) take them for walks. Codeman is too busy to even take his boy for a short walk.

I guess I need to find another route?


Pictures tomorrow. Maybe.

I am too drained to mess with them right now�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top