Today's music?

Birdbrain - "Bliss" (1995 - TVT Records)...loud- reminds me of a cross between Jane's Addiction and King's X



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Apr. 12, 2004 - 8:46 p.m.

An "Easy Monday" kinda entry (with photos and very little writing)

At yesterday�s brunch, my sis D gave Lease a bouquet of a variety of daffodil she grew that I have never seen before. The blooms were double (meaning multiple sets of petals, as opposed to most dafs with their single set of outside petals). The pistils of each bloom are broken into small sections, leaving each bloom with the appearance of being slightly deformed.

Here�s a photo. Easier to show you than to explain:

These bulbs are a good example of the difference between how she and I view gardening. Click here to see a professional photograph of this variety- I imagine this is where she found these bulbs (I know she has purchased from this English supplier before).

She looks for the most unusual varieties of whatever she grows, and she never bats an eye at the cost. For instance, these bulbs are for sale for fall planting from this distributor for �5, which works out to around $9.18 at today�s exchange rate.

That�s PER BULB!

I, on the other hand, am the one scrounging through the �marked down� section, looking for bargains for late season planting. For instance, I picked up packages of unusual species daffodils last November at the local Menards for under a buck. Each package had 5 bulbs in them, too. Some have already bloomed (in pots, and in the ground) One I am looking forward to is supposed to have coronas that are almost pink, compared to the usual yellow or orange.

I am not saying either way of adding new plants to a garden is the right way. We both enjoy the methods we use.

I just can bring myself to pay close to $10 for one bulb�..


Another shot of the same blooms, played around with a bit with my Photoimpression 4 program:


One last shot- Jay-dog tonight, growing tired of my constant use of flash when shooting his photograph:

My bedding plants need some attention, so I am out of here.

Later��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top