Today's music?

Birdbrain - "Bliss" (1995 - TVT Records)...loud- reminds me of a cross between Jane's addiction and King's X



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Apr. 13, 2004 - 8:48 p.m.

Another lame attempt at making a banner ad� plus- this dry weather causes one major benefit for my gardens�.

I have something like 26,000 unused banner ads at D-land.

Not being one to toot my own horn (now that�s an old saying that now sounds somewhat obscene), I just haven�t posted many. The artist known as K-style has even made a couple on nice banners for me.

But I never post more than 1000 or so at a time. Seems a little too �look at me� for my personality.

Anyway�..

I used a free online site (my imager.com) to make another lame banner tonight. Not lame because of what they have to offer on their site.

Lame because it was made that way by me.

Here it is- you decide:

No animation. No photographs (doesn�t seem to be a way to add one at this web site. Wouldn�t know how to do it anyway).

Just sloppy fonts, and a link to my webpage.

If you see it on one of your member�s page, don�t feel the need to give it a pity hit�


Came home from the daily drudgery know as my job tonight, and went right to work.

The weather here in Mohall has been unusually dry for spring. Yes, we had a period of time a couple of weeks ago where it rained enough to send the creeks out f their banks. But the two weeks before that were dry. Since the last rain fell here on March 30th, we haven�t had more than a water-spotter (think car windshield) for 15 days.

One nice thing about this is it has allowed me to do a full-depth tilling of the home garden for the first time in several springs. That was my main job tonight. I let the tiller move at a very slow pace, digging down and breaking up what little clumps there were throughout the various beds. Since I haven�t planted much besides the four Wall�o�water-protected tomato plants, and small areas of onions and garlic, that meant about 95% of my soil.

This means I now have a ready-to-plant garden, minus all of the weed seeds that had sprouted up in the past couple of weeks. Most were from trees (maple and sweet gum). This will mean less hand weeding down the road.

Codeman told me tonight that he would help me load the tiller and turn the soil in the work garden tomorrow evening. I can�t remember ever turning that plot in the spring- the soil just stays wet longer. I haven�t been able to haul in near the organic materials (re: horseshit) that have made their way into the home garden.

It will be more of a challenge tilling the work bed. I have planted several �squares� with spring crops, leaving about 2/3rds of the bed untouched. Those areas are already being overrun with noxious weeds (mainly thistle and horseweed, plus large areas of unwanted dill and cilantro). Being able to turn those weeds under will be a huge timesaver for me.

And you know I don�t have much time to work on that garden as it is�..


I also managed to fill our recycle garbage can (for the compost facility pickup) with twigs and such, raked from both the front and back yards. I can�t remember ever having that much woody debris to rake up before the first mowing of the spring.

Must have been a little lazy clearing up all of last fall�s droppings, I guess�


My back is starting to remind me why I shouldn�t try to do too much manual labor at home, after a full day at work.

Like I said- tomorrow night, we till the beds at work (another hour or so hard work, but Codeman will be there to split it with me).

This Sunday, I get the pleasure of removing all of the old bricks from our back patio, and hauling them to our fill rock pile at work. The concrete guys are supposed to have us on their list for next Monday, weather permitting.

Nephew J-Rod and Codeman have promised to help me do this back-braking job.

I will need all of the help they can give me.

Might need the help of a back doctor too, by the time all of this is done��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top