Today's music?

Skunk Anansie - "Post Orgasmic Chill" (1999- Virgin Records) Hard rock, with an angry-sounding black woman singing the lead ..



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Apr. 16, 2004 - 10:53 p.m.

�I�m still alive��.(no, not the line from the Pearl Jam song)�a fishing story, and something about a toad?

4 hours p.b. today.

Drove to the N.P.P. Lake. Went looking for crappie, found none.

Didn�t even have a bite by one, for that matter.

Still at least 2 weeks too soon for the spawn (when they get it on, for those who have never heard of a �spawn� before, besides the cartoon and movie).

Worth a try, anyway. Sometimes, the male crappies enter the shallow water early, looking for prime bedding areas. Easy pickings.

Not today.

Bluegill weren�t playing easy to get, either.

I walked all the way down the abandoned road to reach my �hidden cove�. This was just a little bit of extra exercise for me- nothing more. The crappie weren�t there, and the bluegills haven�t moved close to the bank either.

Since it has been so dry recently, even the wild flowers weren�t blooming. All that was showing was violets.

I can see those in my back yard.

Was this 4 hours of p.b. a waste of time?

No.

I moved to the old visitors station (yes, the nuclear power plant people once thought there would be scores of people who WANTED TO LEARN ABOUT NUCLEAR ENERGY! THEY WERE WRONG!), which is now the regional Department of Natural Resources headquarters.

I needed a new fishing license (yes, Wallyworld sells them, but I forgot to buy one for the last 3 weeks). The new Department of Natural Resources headquarters was the only place in town that had new license for sale. I found this out after stopping at the local IGA and bait show, both of which didn�t have them for sale.

Anyway�.

I returned to the old visitors center after buying my license and walking down the abandoned road (and catching nothing), and fished at the bridge just north of the center.

After trying several different presentations, I finally struck upon what the bluegills wanted- 3 foot deep, jigs tipped with wax worms, under a balsa wood cork.

I landed a bunch of fish, and ended up with 9 nice keeper bluegills.

Not Carbondale in October good, but still not a wasted day.

The high temperature was 80�.

The wind was out of the south, causing a cooling breeze to blow off of the lake.

And I caught fish.

It wasn�t easy, but I landed enough for an unplanned, grilled dinner (cooked in lemon pepper spices, and consumed by nephew J-Rod and me. Along with chicken breasts cooked on the same grill, eaten by Lease, J-rod, and me).

First summer-like day.

And we spent the evening acting like it was actually one�.


Lease noticed that one of our old toads was lounging in the flowerbed by the back door. She went and retrieved the digital, but by then he was headed towards his den.

I managed to snap this photo before he was out of sight:

I brought home several very small toads (from the standing water at the storage) about 5 years ago.

I still have a toad sighting every so often.

This was the first one this spring�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top