Today's music?

Skunk Anansie - "Post Orgasmic Chill" (1999- Virgin Records) Hard rock, with an angry-sounding black woman singing the lead ..



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Apr. 18, 2004 - 10:56 p.m.

What a fucked up Sunday (with a simple question for y�all)�

As far as that goes- what a fucked up weekend.

Why?

Let me try to explain it, in as few words as possible.

The old patio is toast. J-Rod, Codeman, and I made short work (actually- about 3 hours of hard work, but at a savings of $250, it was worth it)

Now�the only question is �will the shithead concrete contractor I gave the job show up tomorrow or not.

I have come to a conclusion- as long as a typical contractor has cash in the pocket and jobs lined up, they don�t give a crap if they do the next job on their list.

I went through this with roofing contractors a few years back. I had to change who did the job 3 times before I got someone to show up and do the job.

Now, I am not blaming this on their intake of (take your choice- alcohol or illegal drugs).

They just seem to never be in any hurry to do a small job, once they are flush with cash.

When the third contactor finally showed up and did our roof, it took him three days. He told us it was a two day job, but he didn�t figure in the 2nd day, which was his �wicked hangover� day (is words).

The guys I gave the patio contract to has put me off for about 3 weeks (from the day the originally gave me to do the job). I have rescheduled the removal of the old brick patio (by my family and me) three times.

I talked to the owner of the company on Wednesday, and he said he �really wanted to do the job next Monday. Any way I could remove the old brick this weekend?�

Sure, no problem.

He told me to call him back on Friday, to make sure I could remove the old brick and that the weather still looked good.

On Friday, I called him.

He said, �Can you put it off for another week? Looks like rain every day next week!�

Um�no, it doesn�t. I made the mistake of telling him that, oh, I don�t know- I have a very elaborate National Weather Service forecasting system at work (the DCT that the state pays way-to-much for every month), and the only rain it mentioned was to start on Tuesday.

Plenty of time to do my small patio job on Monday.

His attitude changed right then and there (no, I didn�t make my statement to him as sarcastically as I just did here).

He said, �Well, if you get it dug up this weekend, call me anytime on Sunday so I know. Use my cell number- I will answer it anytime.�

Do I have to tell you he didn�t answer his phone?

I called him at 3, to tell him the brick was up ,and to ask him if he wanted me to remove any of the soil next to the house. I ended the message with, �call me anytime when you get this voicemail�.

No, he didn�t call me back.

Surprise!

I waited until 9 to call him again, and left the following message- �Hey, don�t want to bother you, but you said you wanted me to call you sometime today. I moved the soil, and everything is ready for you so you can pour my patio. Just call me anytime- we are off tomorrow, so if you need us for anything in the morning, we will be here for you. Thanks again, my number again is 555-5346

It�s now 10:15. No call back.

I don�t expect him to be here tomorrow. Morning, noon, or night.

Fucker doesn�t call me tomorrow, and I will call him back to cancel the bid. I don�t owe him squat, and there are at least 10 other concrete vendors in town (2 of which gave me bids that were about the same as their bid).


Anyway�.

Photos from today!

At the start of the process:

This photo shows the rolling terrain of the old patio pretty well, doesn�t it?

Maybe not. Take my word for it- the old bricks had settled and heaved so much, the local ground squirrels got motion sickness just running from one side of the thing to the other�


Not sure what J-Rod was doing here, but we were about half way done at this point (2 hours or so into the job)


Patio, now all gone. Yes, we were also babysitting (well- Lease was anyway- I had my hands full of bricks. That is Riley, our grandniece):

What are the boys looking at?

Codeman drug the 13� TV outside, and hooked the cable to it. They were watching the Cubs/Reds game, which was tied at 9 runs each at this time (the Cubs took the lead 10-9, but blew that and lost 11-10 at the end)�


One last photo:

I didn�t take this one.

Grandniece Riley did.

She was fascinated by the digital, and wanted to play with it. I held the camera (so she wouldn�t drop it or anything- hey, I�m not crazy), and she pushed down on the shutter button until it took pictures.

She shot about 10, and this was the only one that really turned out.

Her feet, with Jay-dog in the background. Artistically blurred, too

Maybe she has a future in the arts, just like her father?


One last thing. It�s kinda important to me.

A question, actually.

I have posted 957 entries here.

Amazing, I know. Only used the words �anyway� about 950 times, along with �fuckers� about 800.

That�s not why I am mentioning this.

Just a quick question, though- have I ever written anything that would lead you to the conclusion that I was a racist individual?

Seriously.

Do you think of me in the same way you do, oh say, former Alabama governor George Wallace? Or Mathew Hale? Maybe Adolph Hitler?(no link needed for him, is there?)

Because tonight, someone who I thought knew how I really feel about these things decided that 2 things I had said in the last 8 years were racist (I was being my smart-assed self, and thought they knew I was just kidding).

I guess they have been keeping a notebook with any slight that they felt was aimed at them.

Really strange.

I am the person at work who jumps coworkers for comments I think are over-the edge racist. I have always been the one who fights this form of stupidity, all my life.

And this person (who should KNOW BETTER!) decided tonight that I was as bad as any member of the K.K.K.

Fuck this.

I don�t need to explain how I feel, and how I live my life.

They need to get past THEIR racist viewpoints.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top