Today's music?

Birdbrain - "Bliss" (1995 - TVT Records)...loud- reminds me of a cross between Jane's addiction and King's X



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Apr. 19, 2004 - 7:37 p.m.

Nope - not today�..

Wanna see a photo of our new concrete patio?

He it is:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Yeah, that�s right- the only way you can see our new �patio� is in your imagination.

Why? Because the concrete guys didn�t show up this morning.

No phone call. Nothing.

I tried calling the guy who I have been dealing with on this job, and his phone went straight to voice mail.

I then called the other phone number in the phone book, supposedly for the other owner�s phone.

There, I got the person I had tried to reach at the first number. He said the weather didn�t look promising this week, so he wasn�t going to start any projects until Wednesday. He said he has us �penciled in� for that morning.

I somehow avoided telling him, �Try using an ink pen, mortar boy!�

He didn�t explain why he blew us off today, but I imagine he had a better paying job that he moved forward (and past us).

He gets one last chance. No show and no call on Wednesday, and I will tell him to go fuck himself. There are at least 10 private concrete contractors in the Mohall area. This guy got the job (without even being the lowest bid) because he had the best ideas for fixing our drainage problems, and because he really seemed interested in doing the job.

But I think him canceling us ,once and again now for 2+ weeks leaves us free to drop his services.

He better show up on Wednesday, that�s all I am saying�


By the way- the dogs just love their new sandbox! They have relieved themselves exclusively in the left behind base from the old brick patio ever since we pulled the old ones up yesterday.

I have been picking up the doggie droppings, but the urine just soaks right into the sand.

Be pretty saturated by Wednesday, don�t you think?


Since Lease had already taken today off, I burned a vacation day myself.

Since the patio was off the agenda, that left us with a totally free day.

What did we do with it?

Nothing major. We watched a couple of shows on HBO On Demand that we missed over the weekend.

I sorted a bunch of my digital photos (from the past few month) and took the time to edit some of the ones that I liked but had overlooked in the past. I burned a cd-rom with the ones I wanted printed, and took it to the local Walgreens. I had enought to get the bulk discount (.20� each for 50 or more prints), but I didn't make it back to pick them up.

Note to self- leave a couple of minutes early tomorrow to pick them up...

I tried to plant some annual flower seeds outside, but gave up about halfway through what I planned on doing. It still hasn�t rained this month (a whopping .10 inches so far, according to the local weather station on TV), and the unusually hot weather has baked the soil to mid-August hardness. The veggie beds are nice and loose from last week�s tilling, but the areas up front where I plant the annuals didn�t get any tiller-action. The soil lining the sidewalk was almost too hard to break up.

I should have watered the spots I wanted to plant last night, but with rain in the forecast overnight (40% chance), I hoped nature would do the work for me.

It didn�t.

I managed to break things up enough to sow the purple alyssum and dwarf yellow marigold seeds I mixed together in these strips. Used bagged topsoil to cover the seeds, and then watered them in real good.

I�ll be lucky if they germinate. The highs are supposed to drop back to near normal levels (that would be low 60�s for highs, and around 40 for lows).

These seeds were cheap, so if they don�t make it I can always put bedding plants in their place�.


Leas made a rolled chicken breast dish for supper. Boneless breasts pounded to �� thinness, roasted red bell pepper slices and spices rolled up inside each slab of meat. This was then dipped in an egg wash, and rolled in Panko breadcrumbs. Baked at 375� for about 30 minutes, and then served over spaghetti.

Tasty.

Definitely a keeper recipe�.


Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top