Today's music?

Birdbrain - "Bliss" (1995 - TVT Records)...loud- reminds me of a cross between Jane's addiction and King's X



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Apr. 23, 2004 - 5:48 p.m.

Finally!�.but MY work has just begun�.

The concrete guys pulled into my driveway at 7 am this morning.

Yes, I was in shock when this happened.

I asked them if they needed anything before I left, and the owner told me that he would call me if anything came up.

He didn�t call all day.

That was a good sign.

I came home at the usual time, full of apprehension. There were so many things that I though could have gone wrong. Of course, my biggest fear was that they had decided to knock off early for the weekend, and left me with forms set and no concrete poured.

Luckily for me, that didn�t happen:

They did a very good job. Not perfect by any means, but a helluva lot better than my coworkers and I could have none.

I have several things that I no0w need to attempt to fix or correct:

1. The old wooden fence/gate (in the background of the photo) didn�t fare too well today. The area on the left was left alone. Concrete man said that since there was a drain on this side of the fence, he thought it would be better to cut the old concrete on this side and leave the fence the way it stood.

No problem with that. But the problem came on the section on the right.

When they set the forms for the concrete on that side, they had to pull the old fence up and away from the garage. This fence is about 40 years old, and time has taken its toll on the area that was below the ground.

In other words, it had complete rotted below the surface.

They did what they could to attach it back to the garage, but it�s not going to work that way. The closure now is about 2� too high, and nothing is holding the fence up except a few nails in the garage. The rest of the fence is just resting on the new concrete, flopping to and fro in the wind.

I think I can brace it up with some metal angles and concrete bolts.

Maybe.

Otherwise, it will have to be removed and replaced with something else.

2. The new patio is about 4� taller than the grade of the lawn. Going to take a lot of fill top build that up.

3. The rest of the grass seeding needs to be done now too. Waste of time, with the large urine machines we call dogs, but it still has to be at least attempted.


Later.

We are off to see our Grandniece�s father in a local community play. He is always good at whatever part he gets in these productions, but that doesn�t mean everyone else is to his level of craftsmanship.

Hopefully, it won�t be as bad as I fear�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top