Today's music?

Daniel Cage - "Loud on Earth" (2000 - MCA Records)....British singer/songwriter in the Peter Gabriel mode.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, May. 02, 2004 - 9:13 p.m.

Running late (again)... here's is what has happened since Friday afternoon (condensed version)

Another busy Sunday. This is the first time I have sat in front of the cathode ray goodness of my 17� monitor today.

We did manage to sleep in a little this morning, if going to bed at Midnight and taking the dogs outside at 5:30 am, then crawling back under the covers for another 2 hours counts as sleeping in.

After a filling and tasty breakfast (Lease made her breakfast all-in-one casserole Saturday afternoon, so all I had to do was set the ovens� temperature and cook some toast), I made a major dent into some backed-up chores. Lease wasn�t feeling especially good today (I think you know what I am talking about) so she spent most of the day watching her backlog of recorded television shows under her blanket.

Damn lunar cycle!

I mowed the yard (only the second time this year, and it�s already May 2nd), and removed the straw from the newly seeded area beyond the patio. The seed I used there was a mixture that had a small percentage of annual ryegrass, the quickest to sprout member of the lawn coverage family. As heavily as I seeded the area, the rest of the un-sprouted seeds will have to force they way through what is already up and standing.

Hauled all of my flats of bedding plants back outside this morning (slight chance of frost last night- low of 39� kept that from happening), and had to bring them back in this evening (scattered frost a possibility again tonight, with a low of 34� making that event likely).

I hope this will be the last time I have to carry everything inside. I have 8 (8!) full flats, each containing 18 3-packs of various tomato, pepper, basil, and annual flower starts. Along with the hanging baskets (3 with candy stripe impatiens, 2 with purple petunias) and the 5 gallon pot holding my soon to bloom bush tomato plant.

Pain in the butt.

That�s all I�m saying�


Spent most of the afternoon taking the new carpet shampoo-er for a spin. I picked our bedroom for the first use, mainly because it has the highest level of �dog traffic� in the carpeted section of our house. Jay-dog�s cage also rests in the room, meaning all forms of puppy accidents have happened here in the past 10 months. All received attention from either canned carpet cleaner or the old Bissell hand carpet cleaner, but that doesn�t mean that it didn�t need a deep cleaning.

The machine we finally decided on was the Eureka �Atlantis�. We have had good luck through the years with their vacuum cleaners, and this carpet cleaner got a good review from Consumer�s Report, which is good enough for me.

I have to say , the machine did a very nice job. It isn�t as quick as one of those rental Rug Doctor, and the suction might not be quite as strong, but the agitator brush really cleans deeply (one look at the recovery tank�s water shows you that fact), and it doesn�t have to be returned to the local hardware store by 10 am tomorrow morning, which is a major plus.

I will probably do one room at a time until the house is completely done. No hurry, so no reason to blow a whole day doing the job anymore.


Friday (yeah, I know- try to be a little more timely) I decided to burn those 2 P.B. hours that were burning a hole in my pocket. The strong storms predicted for Thursday held off until late Friday instead, with a huge temperature difference between the high- and low-pressure systems clashing to the west. I drove down to B.A.C.E. Lake, expecting to catch a few crappies.

First stop- Wilber creek boat ramps.

One problem- I had no idea how low the lake level was before I walked down to the shoreline.

So low, all of the rip-rap (and therefore the structure for the crappies to hide in) was out of the water.

Made about 5 casts with no action. With deep blue clouds forming to the west, I decided it was in my best interest to head to another spot.

I went to the big bridge south of Wilber creek. One other truck was parked alongside of the road, meaning someone was already fishing in the small area under the bridge. With little time before the rain would hit, I decided to hope he wasn�t in my favorite spot.

He wasn�t. He was fishing in the area where most of my white bass were caught last fall, not under the bridge. I exchanged a few pleasant works with him, and headed to the rocks.

It took me a few minutes to figure out where the crappies were feeding (about 10 feet from the shoreline, suspended about 5 feet down). In the next 45 minutes, I caught something like 70 crappies, anywhere from keeper sized (8 fish that were 10� or longer, all released except for two I gave the guy fishing down the bank) to as small as 5�. The male fish were starting to show spawning colors. This turns their fins and most of their bodies almost black. The male fish are more torpedo-shaped, and generally are smaller than the female fish.

Anyway�

I took a photo of one of the biggest fish, just before I released her. She measured in at 11 �� inches long. A fish that long would weigh over a pound, which is a nice crappie any day of the year:

One more shot- this shows how low the lake is for late April. The darkest lines on each pillar shows where the water has rested at flood levels in the past. Somewhere in between is normal pool. Right now, the water is sitting about 5 feet below normal pool:

We better get a little rain soon, or the beaches won�t have enough water on them to open for Memorial Day. I can�t remember that happening before (for low water- high water has kept the closed many times).

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top