Today's music?

Birdbrain - "Bliss" (1995 - TVT Records)...loud- reminds me of a cross between Jane's addiction and King's X



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, May. 05, 2004 - 8:35 p.m.

No time to catch my breath� much music news, too�

Lease and I took her mom, my dad, and my step mom out to dinner tonight. Early Mother�s Day meal, minus the 2+-hour wait that would accompany any restaurant meal this Sunday.

That was my one bit of �downtime� all day.

I left home for work early again this morning. Yesterday, I planted 14 tomato plants in the work beds. This morning, I put in 12 eggplant starts, all varieties you might not ever see at your local Kroger. Two are long Oriental varieties- one from seeds I bought a few years ago at the Korean store in Collegetown, the other a more common variety that is called �Ichiban�.

The other eggplant is an experiment. Check these out- even if they don�t taste better than the average eggplant, they should be an eye catcher.

The Seed Savers Exchange sent me a package with 100 seeds in it, contrary to what the web page states (25- which is the standard for most of their varieties). A label attached to the packet said that the germination rate for these seeds was below the standard that they expect (70%), so they quadrupled the number to make up for the shortage.

Because of that, I sowed 20 seeds with the hope of getting at least 10 to sprout.

I ended up with something like 18 seedlings. I doubled them up in the 6-packs, and all survived quite nicely.

Way more than I need. Somebody will be getting more eggplants than they expected this year (probably my sister, since she loves this veggie/fruit as much as I do)


Still trying to bring my week tomato plants out of their wilt. I just can�t remember having so many sad looking bedding plants before this spring�


Yes, I am putting plants out before �all danger of frost has past�.

Two reasons:

1. The local farm bureau report on Monday said that folks in southern North Dakota have a 10% chance of getting a frost AFTER May 1st.

That�s once every ten years, for those who went to Mohall public schools (like me).

In my gardening years, I can remember 2 killers out of the past 24 years. Both happened after cool springs, and both only killed a few tender plants.

2. (and most important) The long range forecast for our area (take your pick- 5-day, 10 day, or month of May) are all predicting above average temperatures. The highs for the rest of this week are to be in the mid-80�s, about 10 degrees above normal. Both late frosts came before the 17th of the month (one on the 4th) Today is the 5th (Happy Cinco de Mayo to anyone of Mexican ancestry who might have accidentally stumbled onto this page!)

Even if anything does die of frost or other cause, I will sit on most of my extra plants long enough to have replacements. This is the mistake I made 2 years ago. I gave away all of my extra plants by the 10th, and then had to buy the only varieties left at the local gardening center. No Oriental eggplants or mild jalapeno peppers that summer.

Won�t make that mistake again�


Speaking of peppers- I have a partial flat sitting on the back patio to take with me to work tomorrow. In it, I have sorted out 28 plants of 10 different varieties. I have more sun at work than here at home, so I have decided to put more of my main crop there this year.

The varieties?

Fooled You (jalapeno), Red Beauty, California Wonder, Gypsy, and Vidi (sweet peppers), Pimento Improved (Spanish sweet), Anaheim, Big Chili, Mulato Islando poblano, and Big Cayenne (hot).

That sounds like a lot of peppers, but it�s not if you can 100 or more jars of salsa a year (like I do, don�t �cha know?).

And that doesn�t count the 30 or so plants I will place in the sunny bed here at home. Oh yeah- and the various small-planted supper hot peppers I will tuck in here and there in the flowerbeds and in pots (Serrano, Habenero, and Tri-Color Variegata).

Maybe this is getting a little out of control?


Tomorrow night, Codeman, The Lovely Chelsea, J-Rod, and yours truly will be at the local 100+ year old theater, watching three �whatever� local bands and one national recording artist (V Shape Mind) perform.

No Lease- she didn�t want to see any of these bands. I didn�t really care for the album by V shape, but Codeman wanted me to go. That, and the tickets were only $12.

Not too often ANY band with a record contract plays around Mohall. Gotta support the arts when given the chance.

Saturday?

Cheap Trick and Aerosmith down at the Peoria, Illinois Civic Center.

Long drive, but it should be worth it.

I�ll let you know on Sunday if I still have my hearing�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top