Today's music?

Birdbrain - "Bliss" (1995 - TVT Records)...loud- reminds me of a cross between Jane's addiction and King's X



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, May. 09, 2004 - 9:22 p.m.

Happy M-Day to all you M�s out there�.. plus- �bout time I updated this thing, don�t �cha think?

Early May has to be the busiest time of my year. Not because of Mother�s Day ( btw- Happy Mother�s day , all you mothers out there in D-Land). No, it�s because I am trying to cram sooooooooo much into each day, due to my two main hobbies (that would be 1. gardening and 2. fishing, in case you don�t know).

Add to that the fact I have been living like a teenager, concert attendance-wise, for the past few days, and you have a recipe for sleep deprivation (3 of the past 4 nights have involved less than 5 freakin� hours of shut eye! Am I crazy or what?)

To try to catch you up, I will use my usual easy way out- photography.

No, I don�t have any pictures from either concert. Too lazy to drag the digital to the local concert (should have, though- very professional production, and I was less than 30 feet from the stage, too). The big show (Aerosmith and Cheap Trick, for those not keeping track) was �no cameras allowed�.

Bummer.

Anyway�.

Here are 3 photos to catch you up on everything not �concert related�. I plan on letting you know about both concerts in an entry tomorrow.

It�s not like anything important ever happens to me on a Monday anyway, right?

Probably get laid off tomorrow, after writing that line�


Codeman did a nice job with Mother�s Day. He decided to order Lease flowers on-line. He even picked out something she loves (tulips), and remembered my cardinal rule of purchasing from a florist: always make sure whatever you order includes SOMETHING that will leave a lasting memory AFTER the flowers end up in the garbage can.

The arrangement he picked out included a cool vase that will be used for cut flowers from our garden beds for years to come.

Check it out:

Pretty impressive, specially without me prodding him into getting her a gift this year .I figured he is old enough to do the right thing without my aid. And he proved me right, if you ask my opinion.

If you have really good eyesight, you can read the nice sentiment he added to the card sent with the buds.

Proud of him, I�m telling you�


Lease left him a message on his cell phone�s voice mail when the flowers arrived on Friday. Trouble is, he couldn�t tell what she was saying. She couldn�t stop crying.

I think he understood what she was trying to tell him, though�


What did I get her for Mother�s Day?

Nothing earth shattering. She isn�t my mom, after all. And she doesn�t want me buying her anything this close to our anniversary anyway (24 years this May 14th).

I brought her home a package of Nestl�s $100,000 Bars when I came home form the concert. And I had her pick out some flowers for our garden today.

Hey- I made her a ham/onion/ cheese omelet for breakfast. After only sleeping for 5 hours.

I�m not a total slug, after all�


Photo #2:

This was taken right after I finished planting my tomato and pepper plants on Friday.

Here is the short list:

81 standard tomato plants (yes 81- not 80, not 82. Just how it worked out)

16 cherry tomato plants.

26 sweet pepper plants.

32 hot pepper plants.

Sounds like enough, don�t you think?

I built a new frame to grow cucumbers on in that area next to the last row of tomatoes in this photo on Saturday. Used 2� x 2� lumber cut 6� long, and then attached with screws and twine in the fashion of the bigger frame in the background of the photo.

Once the cukes start maturing on the frame, I will post another photo here�


After planting the garden, I went to B.A.C.E. Lake. I just knew the crappies would be in the rocks, spawning away to their little heart�s contents. After all, I caught 70 or so of them a week before, right? They HAD to be ready to drop their eggs now.

Wrong.

I caught 2 whole fish in about 45 minutes.

For that reason, I decided to experiment. I moved to the south, and walked a good 200 yards from the bridge down the shoreline. This was the area where I caught all of the white bass last fall. I noticed small fish breaking the surface, meaning that bigger fish were feeding on them. I figured that was my best chance of catching something.

I didn�t catch much of anything (maybe 5 small largemouth bass, along with 3 or 4 small yellow bass) until I made it all the way to where the bank curved back to the west. Once there, I started having better luck.

As I walked to this spot, I noticed 2 large (rough)fish sitting in the shallow water. As soon as they noticed me, the moved away from the bank. This area of the shoreline is different than any area at least 200 feet either direction. Instead of sand or clay for the bottom, this spot drops off deeper and has rock for a base.

Anyway�.

I managed to land another 10 or so white and yellow bass in this spot, along with 5 largemouth bass (one nice one of about 17� and 3 pounds. He had a missing eye from a past battle with a fisherman, so I let him go. Didn�t want to keep a handicapped member of the fish population. Would have felt guilty, after all)

Hooked something large, but lost him in less than 10 seconds. This is not unusual. I use light tackle, so I don�t always get to land the bigger fish. I imagine it was one of the big carp/sucker/buffalo fish that left the bank when I approached the spot. Would have just let him go anyway, so no biggie.

I was using some new line on Friday. It is made form co-filaments, making it very strong for it�s diameter. The line is listed as 14-pound test, but it is only 4 pounds test in diameter.

What does this mean, you might ask (if you were still reading at this point) ?

It means I can keep more of my jigs when I snag them. I didn�t loose one until just before I left, even though I was snagged up at least 10 times.

I pulled one snag out and found the following attached to the end of my jig:

The thing in the bottom of the photo, btw. Not the rock or the Native American cutting tool at the top of the photo.

It is a big largemouth bass lure. It was snagged to something on the bottom of the lake. The previous owner used regular line when he lost his lure. Might have been 8 pound test.

How do I know?

Because I reeled in a piece of it that was about 30 foot long, along with the lure.

Don�t have any use for the lure. Don�t use them.

But I though it was pretty cool that my line was strong enough to drag it free from the snag that cost him a $4 lure�


Oh yeah- the Native American cutting tool�

The water is still real low. As I was walking along the shoreline in an area where I would usually be up to my waist in water, I was thinking that it would be a good time to find an old arrowhead.

Instead, I saw the item on the right smack dab in the middle of an area full of smooth stone like the one on the left. A rather large n umber of Native Americans once lived along the shores of the river that filled this lake, so it isn�t that rare to find a stray arrowhead or cutting tool.

But it�s been at least a decade since I found my last (a very nice white arrowhead, found when the water was very low in the fall)

Made my day, that�s all I am saying�


You still reading this?

I really do owe you a rundown on the two great shows I attended over the past few days.

Tomorrow.

As long as nothing else comes up to eat my free time ;)

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top