Today's music?

Betty - "Hello Betty!" (1991 - BMI Records)...hard to explain this one- acappella/rock by three women with perfect harmony....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, May. 14, 2004 - 9:31 p.m.

It was 24 years ago today�

(That line doesn�t work, trying to sing it to the Beatle�s �Sergeant Pepper�s�)

Somehow, I was able to convince that beautiful woman to marry me on this date - May 14, 1980.

Yes, I had a lotta hair back then, didn�t I? Not that I am going bald or anything, but don�t need the blow dryer anymore.

We didn�t really make any plans for today. Lease asked me to check around to see if we could just book a nice hotel room that had a whirlpool in the room. The Mohall Holiday Inn has several suites with just that, but it seems you need to book them just a little bit sooner. The person who answered the phone recommended that I book one now FOR NEXT YEAR!

May seems to be a busy month for the bridal suites (As they call them).

Wonder why?

Anyway�.

All of the other options within 45 miles were the same story. SO Lease just told me to forget about it. She said that she didn�t even want me to spend money on a card of gift.

I guess that after 23 of these anniversaries, she didn�t think we needed to make a big deal of it.

I had a plan, though.

We have always had our dinner on our anniversary at the local Red Lobster. This time, she said she didn�t want to fight the Friday night crowds. By the time she came home from Springpatch (and work) it would be at least 6 pm before we entered the place. As you can guess, that is a lousy time to try to get any table in a good restaurant on any Friday night.

So here was my plan:

I told here that we could just have a simple dinner tonight (maybe a sack of hamburgers and fries) tonight, and then we could have our nice dinner at Red Lobster tomorrow, before the crowds descended on the place.

At least that is what I told her�.

Instead, I set my sneaky plan into motion this morning. I called her office, but I didn�t use here direct line. I just took my chance with the customer service department. When I heard a male voice on the line, I knew I was in. I told him who I was, and asked him to transfer my call to the woman who drove the carpool this morning. Once she answered the phone, I asked her a simple question:

Could she keep a secret?

She said she could.

I told her what I had in plan. I was heading up to Springpatch as soon as I got off of work at 4 pm. I needed to make a stop at home for a clean shirt, and that MIGHT have made me cut the drive close to the time they would be heading home. All I asked her to do was to make some silly excuse to stay if I wasn�t there by 5pm.

She promised me she would, and that she wouldn�t let on what I was doing.

Lease called back around 3, and started playing 20 questions on me:

Were we eating at home? I told her we would be getting a nice dinner tonight.

At home?�.Maybe.

I didn�t spend any money on a gift, did I? She said she didn�t have a chance to buy me even a card�.. No, I didn�t buy anything, just like you asked.

She knew I was up to something, But I wouldn�t let on what it was.

I figured she called at 3, just to see if I left early to buy a gift.

He he he�

I drove the Hillbilly truck to the spot where the park to meet for the carpool, and I drove her Vibe to Springpatch.

I entered the lobby of here Cableco at 4:51. Went to the front counter, and told the woman (I don�t know her), and asked her to page Lease to tell her she had a customer at the counter.

Totally fooled her! Yes!

BTW- the Springpatch Red Lobster is about 5 minutes from the Cableco.

We had a table as soon as we walked in the door. We had a great meal and were headed out the door at 6 pm.

Yes, the time we might have been walking into the Mohall Red Lobster.

No extra money spent (her rule). And made for a good evening. We went to her favorite store in Springpatch (Gordman�s), and we did a little damage top our checking account. With the bargains we get there, I don�t mind the total at the checkout counter.

And now , here we are, home at a decent hour. I am quickly typing this while Lease takes her evening bath.

I think there is something she bought tonight at Gordman�s that was more for me than her (if you know what I mean)��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top