Today's music?

David Rice - "Orange Number 8" (1992- Justice Records) another .08 cent cd- jazzy-folk? Good on first listen...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, May. 27, 2004 - 5:31 p.m.

A short workplace update�

(Mainly because I don�t have nothing else to write about)

For the first time in the years I have worked at the NDDOT, the cabinets and the upstairs storage area is now under lock and key.

Sad?

Yes.

In the past, these areas were kept unlocked and open to all employees in the storage. Well, that�s not entirely true- when MOM was in charge of the toolroom, she kept the bottom half of the two-part door (I know there is a name for this kind of door�brb�.O.K., from a quick Internet search, it appears they are called �Dutch doors�. I guess the idea came from Holland? But I digress�) closed all day, and stayed behind the opening. If you wanted a screwdriver, you had to go through her. She made you sign a sheet saying tat you had a #2 Phillips screwdriver, and you had to return it before she would take your name off of the list.

Yes, those were swell times! I was the full-time painter back then, and I finally BOUGHT MY OWN PAINTBRUSHES, only because I didn�t want to clean up and return a brush to her at the end of each workday, only to have them dry up and go hard overnight.

So I guess the toolroom has only been open since she left the room and took the lead workers position back around 1986.

Anyway�.

I�m sure that a small amount of pilfering took place through those years. Someone needed 2- �� bolts to fix their kid�s swing set, they just pocketed them. I don�t condone this behavior (for what we are paid, you can buy all the fuckin� bolts you need without risking losing your job. BTW- I can honestly say I have never taken home anything more than a throw-away rag that I forgot was in my back pocket. Most of what the state buys isn�t top quality anyway, with low bids and all�)�where was I? Oh yeah- I don�t condone this behavior, but I know it happens. As long as I have been in charge of the toolroom, what has come up missing has always been very small potatoes.

Until the last 6 months or so.

For some strange reason, we have been going through way too many of some items. Some are auto and truck-repair related things. Some are cleaning supplies. Some are just strange that they are disappearing at alarming rates.

Joe D. Mechanic was really upset about this problem a few weeks ago. He had just purchased some common dashboard items that not only fit our trucks, but also could be used in a person�s private vehicles. A few days later, he needed a couple of these items, and found the door empty. Something like 10 should have been there.

This was the final straw.

I talked to the Doughnut Man, and he gave me permission to buy a few more keys for the cabinets. These keys are only made by the company that manufactures the cabinets, and couldn�t be copied by any local lock shop (and they cost about $7 each, too).

Now, the only people with keys are Joe D., the lead workers, Beavis, and myself. Anyone needs anything, they will have to either have me open the drawers, or search down one of the others.

Funny thing is, only a few people have complained about this new, higher security.

Wonder if they have something they are trying to tell me without even knowing they are doing so?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top