Today's music?

Trucker - "Nothing to See Here" (2003 - Truckerrocks records)...R.E.M. had a bastard child/band with Social Distortion? Ma



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, May. 30, 2004 - 11:01 p.m.

The tornados missed us, so I have time for a �basic� ,photo infused update�

Lease and I spent the second day of this three-day weekend catching up on �normal� things.

Like grocery shopping, doing tasks around the house (shampooing the living room carpet and tons of laundry), and such.

Codeman spent the day taking care of Chelsea�s family pets (she and her family are on a cruise ship somewhere in the Gulf of Mexico about now).

Storms rocked the area all afternoon and evening. Lease and I watched the Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell! rock from the high winds this evening. No new limbs fell, but the winds gave us several minutes of scare while the latest bands of storms worked their ways through the area.

I haven�t had time to do much but burn the unedited files from the Lake Mohall hydroplane races (and Saturday�s preliminaries of the Spring Nationals) onto CD-ROMs.

I did find 2 non-race related shots I thought I would post here before bedtime tonight.

#1. Codeman, enjoying the races:

Lease, Codeman, and I spent all afternoon/early evening at a table on the wooden deck of the lakefront restaurant, watching the races and dropping way too many dimes paying for our liquid refreshments. None of our family or friends joined us, which is a first (for the past 4 years). I know the cost of said drinks are a little high, but there is no better place along the shores of Lake Mohall to watch these races.

Anyway�

I shot this photo of Codeman, enjoying the end of a 5.0 liter modified hydroplane race.

We managed to make it through 22 heats on Saturday. For those who aren�t race fans, that would be 22 preliminary races , heading into the finals.

The finals should have started today, but the weather didn�t cooperate. The winds were around 20-30 mph all day. Too much wind for boats that barely skim across the surface of the water on a calm day.


Codeman spent the day hanging around the pits, talking to drivers and such.

Lease and I went to Wallyworld and Big Lots.

(again) Anyway�..

As we did our errands, we were driving down the busiest east/west road on the north side of town.

I was headed down a turn lane at the busiest section of this road when I noticed what looked like a 10-45 (i.e.-dead for those who don�t know the 10- call numbers) squirrel in the road in front of me. Just before I passed it, it pulled itself onto its good front legs (back legs/back injured by a previous car encounter) and tried to pull itself out of the way of traffic.

I did something that will surprise you: I tried to avoid this rodent.

Yes, the man who has declared war against the tree rats here at Casa Roadiepig TRIED to avoid an injured squirrel in the road.

No such luck- he crawled just far enough for my Vibe to finish him off. Loud crunching sounds convinced us of this fact.

Now, before you brand me an animal abuser, let me say this: Lease told me she was amazed how hard I tried to avoid this tree rat. As much damage they have wrought upon my garden and trees in the last decade or so, she couldn�t believe I actually tried to avoid hitting this creature.

Look- it was suffering in pain. It would have been mortally wounded by one of the next few cars that reached it.

Maybe I was there for a reason?

Fate is a strange thing��


One last photo (#2 , in other words):

There was a group of about 15 (very drunk) people enjoying the races down the deck from us yesterday. One of the parents decided it would be a �good idea� to buy their sons cheap, inflatable toy/hammers.

This is the end result:

These 2 boys spent the better part of 3 hours hitting each and every drunken member of the party, over and over again, with these inflatable hammers.

I don�t know if I am breaking any laws by posting this photo without the individual involved permission.

I figured they were so drunk, that they DID buy these �hammers� for their boys, and that they were acting like this in a public situation, that there wasn�t any rules I was breaking when I shot and now posted this photo.

You think I am breaking any laws, let me know.

I will yank this photo off of my page so quickly; this tattooed victim of the �assault� won�t even know it was up here�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top