Today's music?

Superdrag - "Regretfully Yours" (1996 Electra Records) Beatle-esque rock from a band from Knoxville, tenn.? Think Teenage



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Jun. 22, 2004 - 5:46 p.m.

Now that�s something you don�t find everyday�. Plus beets, and a couple of close-up views of a wild sunflower�

Last evening , Lease and I took Jay-dog and Tony Bonehead on their every-other-day walk. As we approached the big steep hill near the middle of our walk, something caught the corner of my eye.

Lying in the grass in the front yard of one of the huge houses in this rich folks block was what looked like a tiny version of a woman�s beach bag. You know- made out of rattan or rope or something, but stylish like a purse.

Upon closer inspection, it turns out that was what it was- a small woman�s purse.

I unzipped the closure, and sure enough all the personal belongings that most women carry were still inside. A pocketbook with around 10 credit cards, drivers license, personal and business cards- everything but cash. Along with hand lotion , nail polish, and other daily needs.

The woman pictured on the driver�s license was not familiar to us, even though she was about Lease�s age. Mohall might not be New York, but it�s big enough to keep you from knowing everyone.

Once we came home, we set about trying to find how to contact this woman. The latest phonebook didn�t have a listing for anyone with her last name. I was ready to just call the police when Lease had an idea- why not check one of the outdated phonebooks we keep upstairs. They come in handy for lost phone numbers every now and then.

This time, anyway. I called her up, and asked her if she had lost her purse.

Not lost- her back window on her car was crashed in so the thief could steal her belongings. She had only left her car for a few minutes, taking a walk on the local bike trail. The thief probably was watching nearby, and waited until she was out of sight to do their cowardly business.

And this had just happened yesterday morning, maybe 8 hours before we found it.

Her husband drove over and picked it up. He seemed a little suspicious of me, but I have come to expect this. At my job, we find lost or stolen purses and wallets all the time. I myself have found at least 2 purses and 3 wallets, along with a checkbook and a woman�s pocketbook in my 21+ years on the road. Since I am the one who calls and gives back any found belongings (since I am in the toolroom everyday), I have come to expect the person recovering their property to consider us prime suspects.

Lease had her purse stolen the day before Thanksgiving 5 years ago. It was returned to her until Christmas Eve, leaving her a month to worry about what had been done to her photos and such.

So I understand why someone might be a little leery when the phone rings, the caller offering to give back their stolen possessions�


Canned up 5 wide-mouth pints of sweet pickled beets tonight.

Matter of fact, they are due to be removed from the canning pot right about now.

Be right back�..

.

.

.

.

.

.

Yeah, the buzzer was going off.

I should have kept a closer eye on them. They were in the smaller pot I use, and since they had to cook for 30 minutes, part of the water boiled out. This left the the tops of the jars a little bit out of the water.

Oh well- they should still be o.k.

I�ll know, if they don�t seal in a couple of hours�


I have a pair of wild sunflowers growing near my bird feeder. These have grown almost 6� tall, which is unusual for a volunteer. They are also blooming already, which is about a month ahead of the hybrid ones I planted this spring.

Last night, I noticed several bees (bumble and otherwise) working hard to gather pollen from one of the blooms. I grabbed the trusty Minolta Dimage digital, and shot a bunch of frames in the Macro (close-up) mode.

All I did with the following shots is crop them to the size I wanted. There was no need to play with the color or contrast, since the sun was burning brightly.

That, and the colors were so vivid to start with anyway.

First, a shot of the heart of the bloom, minus bees:

See what I mean about the bright colors? Only nature can produce shades that strong�

This is one of my favorite shots of said bees:

I don�t know what type of bee the green one is, but he didn�t like me poking the camera inside of the bloom. I think this is the only one I captured where he sat still long enough o catch him.

I could get as close as 1�, but that�s it. I would have liked to have been able to stick the lens right into a bees face, but that probably would have gotten me stung anyway�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top