Today's music?

Ty Tabor - "Safety" (2002- Metal Blade Recordfs)...King's X guitarist sad "divorce" solo album...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jun. 24, 2004 - 5:09 p.m.

Reason #537 why I garden�..plus- D.D.Neighbor�s wife was having a little trouble getting around yesterday�

I harvested my first 2 zucchini squash on Tuesday. I didn�t keep them, though- I had already promised my Dad that he could have the very first ones, and I dropped them off at his apartment on my way home from work that day.

I was making my morning walk around the work beds when I noticed that another nice zucchini had formed on one of the vines. It was only about 5� long, and the diameter of a quarter.

That�s just a little too small to make it worth harvesting, so I decided to leave it on the plant. I filled a plastic bag with pumpkin and squash blossoms (yes, several of the new guys asked me for these deep frying delicacies, so I am picking them each morning), and also pulled my shallot bulbs from the soil, and went to start my workday.

Just before we left tonight, I decided to check on that one lonely zucchini one more time.

It had grown all day (I expected this, with all the moisture we have in the ground right now), and was not almost 8� long and more like a half-dollar in diameter.

Perfect.

Tonight�s meal will be spaghetti and meat sauce (once Lease and Codeman make it home from work), so the squash could go with the main course in several different ways.

I decided on breaded and fried slices. I also had about � of a small head of cauliflower that was starting to turn colors (I think I picked it over a week ago), and that could be fried along with the zucchini. To this, I also added a couple of small Vidalia onions, cut into rings.

Since Lease gets home a full 2 � to 3 hours after I do, I tend to get a little hungry before we can sit down and eat.

Sooooo�..

I put my designated deep fry stock pot on the burner of my gas grill, heated up the oil, and had my portion of the freshly harvested veggies just a few minutes ago. The rest will be cooked once everyone makes it home.

How did they taste?

Like only home-grown vegetables can- sweet, full of flavor and very few chemicals.

Very good, in other words�.


My shallots grew much larger than normal this year. I guess that was to make up for the small Vidalia onions I harvested a while back.

I have already separated the very largest bulbs (golf ball sized, I guess) and have hung these on their own string. That way, I will have them for planting in November.

Haven�t bought shallot bulbs for over a decade. I just keep recycling the best from each year�s harvest.

Probably have 7 or 8 pounds of these specialty bulbs hanging in the garage.

That is more than we will use, so once they are dried I might have to hand a few out to family and friends�.


One last thing- as Lease and I approached the end of our dog walk last night, the Drug Dealer Neighbor and his wife pulled up to the curb across the street from their house in his customized 2001 Corvette. He got right out of the driver�s seat and went in the house.

I am not exaggerating when I say it took his wife a good 3 minutes to just get out of her seat and out of the car. She could barely pull herself up from the

low seat. Once standing, she swayed in place for a few seconds before saying �Whoa!� and stumbled across the road and towards her house.

All this, less than a few feet from where we ended up. I made a comment to her about how hard it is to get out of a sports car, and she mumbled something that I took for �un, yeah� before she started snickering.

She was about as fucked up as I have seen an individual in a long time. A little coke, a lotta alcohol? Both?

I guess the reason why he hurried into the house might be because she is cutting into his profits�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top