Today's music?

Ty Tabor - "Safety" (2002- Metal Blade Recordfs)...King's X guitarist sad "divorce" solo album...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jun. 28, 2004 - 9:42 p.m.

What a weird day (must be lack of sleep)�

I'm not going to be able to write about our weekend today. Planned on it, but ran out of time tonight.

Spent most of this evening trying to burn copies of the new (note- I edited out the band name and cd title , out of parinoia of the lawyers from the RIAA) �XXXXXX XXXXXXXX� cd (you know- the band with XXXXX XXXXXXXX from the band XXXXX XXXXXX XXXXXXX and a bunch of former members of the band XXX XXXXXXX XXXXX).

I only planned on burning one extra copy. I never carry the original copy of a cd in my truck, mainly because I am so rough on anything placed inside of the Hillbilly truck.

I noticed the little sticker on the front packaging for this cd that stated something along the lines of �This cd contains anti- piracy data to stop the unauthorized reproduction of this copyrighted album. Look, it�s not enough that we are dragging your grandmothers into court for burning the latest disc by 50 cent. We want to make it impossible for you to even make a second copy of this disc, even though YOU ACTUALLY PAID US FOR IT!� Fuck you, consumer- we want you to buy as many copies as we can. So stop whining and buy a couple more packages of this cd before you leave the store, you cheap fuck!�

Or something like that, anyway�

I ruined 2 cd-r�s before I figured out what was happening. There has to be a file or two buried somewhere in the store bought copy that stops the recording process. It happened each tiem around the 5th song.

I decided to explore the disc�s files a little, and found several things there that didn�t involve XXXXXXXX�S guitar work. Files with weird .rsd and such suffixes attached to their titles.

So I did the logical thing- instead of hitting �copy� with my Roxio cd making program, I went into the �pick a file� setup and just yanked the 13 tracks from the original disc.

Even doing this wasn�t a sure bet- several times the burner lost track of where it was recording and tried to get me to finalize before it had completed transferring all of the files.

I ended up burning a fistful of cds from the original. These will be given to friends and family AT NOT COST TO ANYONE BUT ME.

If the recording industry continues to find new and improved ways to fuck with their only remaining customers ( that would be people like me, who still buy new cds-I don�t rip files for free from the Internet anymore, and mostly burned only ones for albums I already owned on other formats in the past anyway), they will be continuing to watch their sales (and, naturally, their profits) diminish.

I plan on sending a nasty email to the record label that produced this cd, btw. Let them know how I feel about their new �technology�.

Might even tell them I will return the disc to the store as damaged since I �couldn�t� burn a copy for myself. Let them know I won�t buy any other cds with this added �extra feature�, too.

Sorry, but I don�t have a lot of sympathy for the suits in the recording industry. They treat most of their artists like indentured servants (as opposed to like slaves, which is how the very first rock and rollers were treated back in the 50�s and 60�s).

(Hum�.maybe I better change the title of the cd I burned tonight to all X�s.

If the band�s label somehow finds this entry, the jackbooted thugs they employee to harass the music buying public might be waiting for me at my front door tomorrow when I get home from work�..)

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top