Today's music?

Secret Machines - "Now Here is Nowhere" (2004 - Reprise Records)...favorite new band this year-think Pink Floyd, with John Bon



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004 - 8:50 p.m.

Strange days indeed�.

About 2 minutes after I rose from bed yesterday morning, I found myself walking down the stairs into the basement. I needed to use the head, and had just let the dogs outside to do the same.

As I turned to walk back up the stairs (maybe 4 minutes after opening my eyes) I noticed what I thought was a leaf sitting on the floor at the bottom of the steps.

I wasn�t awake enough to bend over to pick it up (which, turns out, was a good thing), so I just nudged it with the big toe on my right foot.

The �leaf� responded by moving, and making the unmistakable noise that only one creature in these parts makes:

Click.

Click.

Yes, it was a bat.

For those keeping score, that make him #3 in the 8 years we have lived in this house.

Luckily for me, this one was either injured or otherwise damaged. It couldn�t fly, and could barely move its wings at all.

Now fully awake, I took him quickly out of his misery. I quickly put the throw rug at the base of the steps over him, and did a pretty mean Gregory Hines impersonation on his tiny, injured body.

I gathered him up in a rag, and deposited him into the outside trashcan.

Sorry- no mercy for these rabies-carrying flying rodents. I have no problem with them living outside. Several of them even spend the warmer months in the overhang on our house. They don�t like it when I work on that side of the house. If I do, this brings out a chorus of clicking noises until I move away form them.

But, even though I opened the windows and doors for the first two adventurers that decided to fly around our house, they refused to leave. I brought both of them down as they were flying laps around the house (one in our bedroom, one in the living room/dining room area).

Hopefully for both species, this will be the last one I have to deal with inside of our house for a long time�


The wackiness continued again this evening.

Jay-dog had a really bad day. He must have ate something yesterday that didn�t agree with him, because he made a really bad mess in his cage (if you catch my drift).

It took me a good 45 minutes to clean out his cage, and another 20 minutes to wrangle him around in the shower. He was due for a good shampooing anyway, so it wasn�t a total loss, time wise.

Problem was, tonight was the night I was supposed to vote on our new contract at the Teamster�s Hall.

I get off of work at 3, and the meeting started at 4.

I was still working on Jay�s cage at that time.

I can�t imagine the new contract not passing. Yes, they are making us pay another 3% towards our retirement. That takes us up to 7%, with the state kicking in nothing.

But we aren�t being forced to take pay cuts. Even with the increase in retirement, we will come out ahead (especially in the last 2 years of the contract).

Kinda wonder how the vote went, though.

Guess I will find out tomorrow at work�


One last bizarre-o event today:

When Lease came home, we harnessed up the big dogs and took them for a walk. Everything went fine, until�

We were headed downhill about 3 blocks from here. I think I was babbling on about something that happened at work today when Lease yelled �BAT!�

Since it was daylight still, this caught me off guard.

�Bat? Where?�, I said.

Right in front of you!� she said.

Dumb old me- I was looking up and around, expecting a low-flying bat to swoop down upon me.

�NO! ON THE SIDEWALK!�

Now, I expected to see a dead bat.

It wasn�t.

It was alive, and slowly WALKING TOWARDS US ON HIS ELBOWS!

Or whatever you want to call the middle joint on their wings.

Really strange behavior, needless to say.

This one must have been injured, too. Never seen one in the daylight hours before. And this one was not moving too well. A sparrow landed besides the bat, and appeared to be trying to figure out a way to consume him.

At least that is the way it looked. Lease and I had moved off of the sidewalk and were headed away from said bat as quickly as we could.

Of course, I didn�t have my camera with me.

You never do, when something weird like this comes up�.


Last summer, the farmer who works the field across the road from the storage planted corn.

The year before? Soybeans.

You can go back for the 21+ years I have worked out of this building, and the rotation pretty much went that way, every other year.

But not this year.

This year, he went in a totally different direction.

Here is a distant shot, taken from about the 3rd door of the building:

I shot a bunch of photos of this field today at lunchtime, but haven�t had the time to edit them at all yet.

Tomorrow, maybe I will be able to post a few here. The view is really amazing, when you get closer to view this crop�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top