Today's music?

Secret Machines - "Now Here is Nowhere" (2004 - Reprise Records)...favorite new band this year-think Pink Floyd, with John Bon



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Jul. 10, 2004 - 10:46 p.m.

A short waste of your time- I promise�

�I never have had sex with a 10. I did have sex with 5 2�s in one night. I think that should count for something, though� George Carlin, circa 1985.

Lease and I watched an old HBO special by Mr. Carlin tonight. Not much new on the �On Demand� portion of digital cable. Must have something t do with last weekend being a holiday weekend, I guess.

We also managed to make it through the hard-to-watch 2002 film �Auto focus�, based on the book written about the life and death of Robert Crane.

If you are under the age of 40, you probably have no idea who Robert Crane was.

�Hogan�s Heroes�

He was Hogan.

He was also a sex addict. This was the downfall of his life, and what also brought about his premature death.

I am sorry, but I can�t recommend this movie. Too dark, even though it was described as �a dark comedy�.

And World War 2 was just a little �humorous adventure involving troops and such�.

Not worth the time it took to watch.


A couple of quick links, and then I am off to bed�

1. My future nephew-in-law, Shawn, has started writing his own �journal� here at D-land.

He is only about 10 years younger than me; so calling him my �nephew� seems a little odd. He has been a great father to my most frequent photo subject (Riley), and has been a great companion to my niece, Tara. They are to be married in the local �haunted� movie theater on Halloween Eve this year. Yes, I am the photographer. Wouldn�t have it any other way, �natch.

He has only written 3 entries so far, but that is to be expected for someone trying to earn a degree in medical radiology, all the while raising a family.

Bookmark him, and keep track of how things go for him (and all of us, I think) for the future�


2. Cosmic Crayola asked me if she could use a few of my sunflower photos for a layout.

Of course, I said.

She really did my photos proud, I must admit�


My Cubs lost again today to the dreaded St. Louis Cardinals. That puts them a full 8 games out of first place (um- that would be said Cardinals).

For a Cub fan , the season is just about over. I am a lifetime Cubs fan. This development doesn�t surprise me- I have seen too many springs start out with high hopes, only to see my team crash and burn by the All-Star break.

All of the local Cardinal fans are in hog heaven. Cubs loosing, Cardinals winning? All that it takes to make their life complete.

Baseball is a hobby to me, not my life. Most Cardinal fans (including several of my co-workers, and my brother in law)- it is all that matters in their life. As long as the Cardinals win and the Cubs loose- life is good.

Today is July 10th. Here is what I have to say about the folks of Cardinal nation:

There are 29 other teams in major league baseball.

Even if you toss out my Cubs, which leaves 28 other teams that can beat you for the title. When you consider that the New York Yankees have won � of ALL WORLD SERIES, that means the odds of your team (known as �we�, as in �we just need to win all three games against the Cubs to be in good shape�, like you actually play for the team) winning it all are slim.

The last time the Cardinals won the World Series was 1982. I was working at the county assessors office back then.

I have worked for the North Dakota State Highway Department for over 21 years. Yes, it has been almost 100 years since the Cubs won the World Series.

But it was three years after the last Cardinal championship before my son was born. And he will be a sophomore in college this fall.

Not a stellar record to be proud of, is it?

My life doesn�t depend on a baseball team winning a title. For several of my coworkers, it does.

That, IMHO, is a shame�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top