Today's music?

Local H - "Here Comes the Zoo" (2002 -I think) another great cd by this one man "band"



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Jul. 11, 2004 - 7:43 p.m.

A little bit of common sense�plus-photos from today�s processing

Have you ever received one of those nasty �Phishing� emails?

No, not from the jam band, Phish.

I mean one from someone trying to get your personal information . They send you an email that looks like it is legit. Maybe from Ebay, maybe from Citibank. Seems the company in question needs you to �update your personal information�.

Their excuses are all over the board- maybe they try the �if you don�t update your information in 24 hours, your account will be blocked�. Sometimes, it is along the lines of �we are doing our periodic updating of account information, and we need you to send us everything you can about your mother�s maiden name, purchasing history, band and credit card account numbers, etc., so we can keep you as a customer�.

Cocksuckers! Every one of these cretins!

I know that 99.9% of the people who get these emails just dump them. That leaves another .1% who falls for these deceivers, allowing them to steal their identities for criminal intents.

These scumbags are as low as the Nigerian bank transfer scam assholes. Hoping for just enough rubes to make a dishonest profit at their expenses.

For about the 100th time, I received one of these scam mails in my �junk email� account this week (.yours.com)

Instead of just deleting it, I decided to play along with them. I filled out their form, filling in each blank with totally false information. Anywhere they needed a name, I used �dick face� or �shithead�.

This didn�t deter them, though. They sent me a follow up, asking me to clarify some of my responses.

So I sent them the following email, which came back to my as �undeliverable�.

Maybe they read what I wrote, and decided they didn�t want to deal with me anymore (everything in italics was contained in my return email from the spammers. Please don�t try to click on anything that looks like a link, because it might send you their way!):

This is the Postfix program at host webmail-outgoing.us4.outblaze.com.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that the message returned

below could not be delivered to one or more destinations.

For further assistance, please send mail to

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can

delete your own text from the message returned below.

The Postfix program

:

host mail4.ssmb.com[199.67.139.129] said: 554

5.7.1 Appears to be spam (qid: i6A2l4ci023326), caught on

imbaspam-ny04 (in

reply to end of DATA command)

Reporting-MTA: dns; webmail-outgoing.us4.outblaze.com

Arrival-Date: Sat, 10 Jul 2004 02:47:04 +0000 (GMT)

Final-Recipient: rfc822; [email protected]

Action: failed

Status: 5.0.0

Diagnostic-Code: X-Postfix; host mail4.ssmb.com[199.67.139.129] said:

554 5.7.1

Appears to be spam (qid: i6A2l4ci023326), caught on imbaspam-ny04

(in reply

to end of DATA command)

Date: Fri, 09 Jul 2004 21:47:04 -0500

From: "Xxxxx Xxxxxxxx"

Subject: Re: !ReguIar Citibank verification [Fri, 09 Jul 2004 01:53:08 +0100]

To: "Citi"

Eat my shit and die, lowlife identity theft cocksucker!

A very hot place in Hell is reserved for you and your kind. Only a blood-sucking leech would take advantage of the gullibility of the masses.

What, did the Nigerian bank transfer scam stop working for you?

Multiple venereal diseases await your sorry, scrawny, crooked, little pecker.

Have a very nice, disease-ridden day!

A real human, who doesn't have a Citibank account

----- Original Message -----

From: Citi

Date: Fri, 09 Jul 2004 02:54:08 +0200

To: [email protected]

Subject: !ReguIar Citibank verification [Fri, 09 Jul 2004 01:53:08 +0100]

in 1987 Winamp in 1876 Romeo in 1940

<< funereal.GIF >>

--

Anyway�

You think I was too harsh on them?

I don�t, btw�


So- how did I spend my Sunday?

Relaxing, in my own kinda way.

I never left the property. I went outside a few times, mainly to get things from the garage or to clean on the Vibe.

I canned up a couple of batches of things I have never made before today.

Well, not entirely different. Just variations on things I have made many times in the past.

Here is a photo showing my work:

On the left- dill pickled Roma green beans. Never had enough green beans at one time to ever consider making these �pickles�. I have tried to freeze these beans in the past, to little good. They just don�t take to the freezer well. And since I don�t pressure can (as opposed to water-bath canning, which is all I do), I can�t just put these up as regular beans.

I found the recipe I used on the Internet. It was from a private person�s page, so I can only hope it is safe.

It should be- the vinegar-water ratio is real close to what I use for jalapenos.

I will let you know in about 8 weeks. That should give them enough time to be cured�


On the right?

Jam.

If the Lovely Chelsea is reading this, just stop now. It won�t be a surprise to you and your family if you know what is contained in the jar I gave you this evening.

If you are not the Lovely Chelsea- read on�

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Since the tree rats ate my entire apricot crop (minus 2 small fruits) on the weekend we went to Six Flags, I decided to buy some �cots from the local Sam�s warehouse last weekend. They appeared to be fresh, and looked like they would be tasty, too.

I also bought a whole seedless watermelon last week, along with some Rainer cherries and a few ripe peaches at the local downtown farmer�s market last Saturday morning. In other words- I had way too much fresh fruit to eat in just 7 days.

I totally forgot about the apricots until this Saturday morning. By then, they had become overripe for raw consumption. I figured they would be ok for jam, though.

Problem was, there wasn�t enough fruit there to make a full batch of jam.

Yesterday morning, I picked up some �overripe� peaches from a local orchard at the farmer�s market.

Once the 5-watt light bulb came on over my head, I knew what I would be making today.

Apricot-peach jam.

Turned out pretty good, IMHO.

Tastes ok, anyway�


One last photo (n case you are still here):

For supper tonight, we had over-baked pork ribs. To that, we added fresh corn on the cob (also from the farmer�s market), and several small Siberia tomatoes from the garden.

This was one of the three plants I grew in the Wall�o�waters this spring. The other two plants are still a few days away, but the Siberia plant has already cranked out a dozen or so (semi) tasty early tomatoes for our dinner table.

They look far better than they taste, but they still beat the mealy excuses for tomatoes that the local Kroger is getting $2 a pound for nowadays:


You still here?

Sorry this entry was so long. I think the email scam took up far more space than I expected.

Hope y�all had a great weekend too.

I just found out a couple of bands of minor success from the 1990�s (Sponge and Local H, for those keeping score) that I like are playing at a county fairgrounds on Thursday, just a couple of hours from Mohall.

Might be another burned vacation day (the next day) week this week.

What is summer for, right?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top