Today's music?

Local H - "Here Comes the Zoo" (2002 -I think) another great cd by this one man "band"



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jul. 12, 2004 - 9:15 p.m.

This is not what I wanted to see in my email tonight�nor did I want to start another day the way I did here this morning�

Hello, this is TicketMaster Customer Service with an important alert regarding your upcoming event. D.HALL,J.OATES, and M.MCDONALD (ROCK'N SOUL 2004 REVUE) scheduled at Petersburg CIVIC CENTER ARENA on SUNDAY SEPTEMBER 15th 2004 7:00pm has been cancelled.

Fuck!

And I had scored such good seats, too! Floor level, row 8!

Figures...

No explanation given for the cancellation. I bet I know why, though:

They are also playing at the State fair in August. The show we bought tickets to (less than an hour from the State fairgrounds).

Two shows, less than a month apart in the same area. The market (probably) has spoken- that is one show too many.

When you consider that our tickets (including all of the Ticketmaster fees and overcharges) to the Petersburg show set us back $128.50 (all refunded but the one-time �event� fee of $3.50), and the tickets I just finished ordering for the State fair show only costs us $58.00, I guess I should complain.

Only thing is, the Petersburg show would have been inside an air-conditioned building.

And we wouldn�t have to enjoy the aroma from the livestock barns at the show, too�


Had another bat �almost� inside of the house this morning.

�Almost�, as in he was stuck inside of the ventilation tube for the clothes dryer, flapping away and trying to get back outside once he realized his mistake.

Lease let me know that she knew something was alive in behind the dryer as soon as I got out of bed this morning. She told me all she did was throw all of the dirty clothes into the washer and ran back upstairs, closing all of the doors in her path.

I was at least prepared for the flying rodent this time. I took a broom and a flashlight downstairs with me, and set about bat removal. It only took me a minute to figure out he was still INSIDE of the hose, making his eviction much easier.

I just turned the dryer on, giving this misplaced bat about 10 minutes of toasty warm air. Either he figured out how to get back out, or he died a relatively peaceful death from carbon monoxide poisoning.

If it�s the later, I will know in a short while. Nothing like the smell of a dead mouse to turn your stomach. I can�t imagine a bat would smell much differently�


When I came home tonight, I ran the dryer again, this time to dry the clothing inside. I didn�t turn the power on immediately, though- I listened closely for any sound coming from within the hose.

Once all was clear, I only ran the dryer long enough to make sure nothing was inside, and then headed outside to try to secure the area.

I thought this house had been bat-proofed a few years ago, when I killed the last misfortunate intruded. I never though about the dryer vent opening, though.

I cleaned the casement well out completely (including one long-dead relative of this morning�s bat, now just a mummified remain), and then made a covering for the casement using hardware clothe (big screen wire, in other words). This I braced onto the house with a strip of lathe (actually, a give-away yardstick) mounted with drywall screws. I then folded the cloth and secured the entire border down with old paving bricks. I even stuffed steel wool into the small opening between the hardware cloth and the concrete foundation of the house.

Unless the next bat is SUPERBAT!, I don�t think he will be able to move the bricks enough to gain entry�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top