Today's music?

Secret Machines - "Now Here is Nowhere" (2004 - Reprise Records)...favorite new band this year-think Pink Floyd, with John Bon



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jul. 15, 2004 - 5:29 p.m.

Ouch�And ouch�.Ouch again�

I spent the first hour after getting off from work tonight picking wild blackberries at the same river bottom property that I harvested black raspberries last month.

I haven�t had a good place to pick blackberries in a long time. Seems like once I found a good location, someone would go in and mow the area down, or vine weeds would choke off the young plants. So have a new place to pick is a good thing.

If you have never had the �pleasure� of picking blackberries, let me try to explain the sensation this activity gives me: imagine sticking your arms all the way up to the shoulder into a cage filled with angry, feral cats. Then, try to pull your arm back out once the claws of said cats have begun digging deep into your flesh.

That�s pretty close.

Black raspberries have thorns of their own, but they are much smaller and just leave shallow scratches all over the surface of your arms.

Blackberries grab a hold of you, and won�t let go until blood is dripping from the deep wounds they inflict upon your body.

Why would anyone go through all this, just for a little fruit?

Taste.

Wild blackberries have a very complex flavor, with several different layers of (what word am I looking for here? I know-) depth.

If the only blackberries you have ever eaten are those single-layer-in-a-plastic-clamshell things the sell in the produce section (at outrageous prices, I might add), you have never tasted the real thing�


I put enough of the berries through the blender to make a batch and a half of jam. The puree is resting in the fridge. Might have time to make it later tonight, but if not, it will keep for a few days.

If I haven�t done anything with them by Saturday, they will go into the freezer for a winter day�


We�re not going to the Local H/Sponge concert tonight.

I am just too tired to make the long drive there and back, and then try to get enough sleep before the alarm goes off in the morning.

There will be other shows that pop up this year. Maybe I can find out about them long enough ahead of time so that Lease can get the next day off�


Tomorrow night? A trip in Moose�s boat, and (hopefully) a bunch of cooperative white bass on B.A.C.E. Lake�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top