Today's music?

(Melissa) Auf Der Mar - "self titled" (2004- Capitol Records) former bassist for Hole and the Smashing Pumpkins solo debute- p



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Jul. 18, 2004 - 9:54 p.m.

�Six Feet Under� is about to start, so this will be quick�

Fishing with Moose, version 2.0 , went well Friday after work.

We didn�t catch as many fish as we did last year (version 1.2), but we still did well enough to have a great time.

Tomorrow, I will expand on the trip to B.A.C.E. Lake. For now, a couple of highlights:

1.Moose managed to land a nice white bass AFTER his rod broke about 3 � up from his reel. The rest of the pole was in the lake, along with the fish he hooked when his rod snapped in two.

2.Moose also had the misfortune of landing around 10 drum perch before he put one white bass in the boat. I don�t mind drums (my largest fish caught before I was 18 was a 13 pound drum caught while fishing for crappie. I was proud of it, anyway), but he told me that he thinks they are ugly fish.

3. We managed to land enough decent fish before the cold front rolled in (about 7 pm, btw) to fill three small Ziploc� bags with filets. I fried up 5 nice filets with my dinner yesterday, and have enough left to pay Sef back for the beef he gave me at work on Friday (me raises beef, and had just taken one to the butcher on Thursday).

Saturday, Lease and I managed to cram a weekends worth of work in to one day so we could�

Fish today.

We went to N.P.P.Lake this morning, and spent the day trying new methods of fishing in an attempt to land a few keeper channel catfish.

We also managed to be drum (perch) majors. Drifting with the wind, we landed only one catfish. It was far too small to keep.

We did land 7 drum perch of various sizes. They put up a good fight, so all was not lost. Everything we caught today was released. Even the nicer bluegill we put in the boat late in our trip (over 20 in the last hour or so, when we actually tried to catch them). Enough in the freezer right now anyway�


�Six Feet Under � just started. BRB�

.

.

.

.

O.k.- that was about fucked up. I don�t know why I still watch this HBO show. Too dark and fucked up for me. Crack smoking, imaginary sex, people getting bags of shit in their mail- too weird!

At least the new show (�The Entourage�) is a comedy. Maybe that is to make up for all of the black, dark, fucked up shit they throw out at you for the hour that �Six�� is on.

Anyway�

Back to the fishing stories�

I didn�t bring one of my cameras with me on Friday. The weather was threatening, so I didn�t want to take a chance on water damage.

Today?

The forecast was much better (high of 80�, with no chance for rain). The old Fuji was included in our gear today.

Lease wanted to bring it in case we came close enough to get a shot at the blue herons what inhabit the coves on the basin we spend our time at this lake. Today, we saw several of these large birds. We weren�t able to get too close to them, but the 6x lens on the old camera brought us at least a little closer.

One problem- most of the shots were somewhat blurry, mainly due to the magnification necessary to photograph these secretive birds.

This is what I thought was the best couple of photos of the 40 or so shots I took today:

One of these modern-day pterodactyls, in flight, about 150 yards from the boat. I was using the old Fuji�s 6x zoom to the max, so the slightest movement made most of the photos blur.

This one is also a little overexposed. I blame that on the camera too, not on my choice of shots. It did manage to capture one of the birds as it left the water:

It would be a better shot if the bird wasn�t overexposed, but I couldn�t control that�

One last shot:

Like all of the photos we took today- just a little out of focus.

I knew that this might be a problem when I was taken the shots. The little �blurry hand� symbol was on my led screen. This was a warning that I needed to mount the camera on a tripod.

Like that would work in a boat, rocking with the waves.

Oh well- at least you can see what these huge birds look like, a football field and a half from the hillbilly boat�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top