Today's music?

(Melissa) Auf Der Mar - "self titled" (2004- Capitol Records) former bassist for Hole and the Smashing Pumpkins solo debute- p



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004 - 5:39 p.m.

How you can tell if your baseball team�s season is over in late-July, even thought here are over 75 games to be still played (trust me- I am quite experienced at this�)

Well, the Cubs sure have turned out to be a major disappointment in my (sports fan) life.

Not that I couldn�t have predicted this back in spring training. All of the hype, the prognosticators saying that this was finally the year they would make it to the World Series. After all, they were just 4 outs away last fall before the roof caved in on them. Everyone of any importance from the team was resigned, and they even went out and signed the man who had started his career with the Cubs, only to leave for greener pastures (Atlanta) and make that team better for the past 12 years (Greg Maddox).

"Nobody could stop them now!"

Uh huh. Like I ever believed that bunch of crap�

Problem was, these same people forgot the long, storied history of failure and crashing and burning that the National League team from Chicago had put together over the last 100 years.

Spring training ends with the best pitcher from last years starting rotation (Mark Prior) on the 60 day disabled list. The bullpen ace closer from last year (Joe Borowski) has a bad spring, and is throwing the ball 5-7 mph slower than at this time last year.

And that�s before the season even begins.

In the first half of the new campaign, they loose their top two starters for prolonged periods of time, the closer for what looks like the entire season (torn something or another in his pitching arm), their two best power hitters for extended time, and their starting shortstop and second basemen from last year for almost the entire time.

Still, they managed to hang around at or near the top of the standings until about 2 weeks ago. I think they might have been 3 games out at the time, which is amazing considering who they were tossing out onto the field each day while everyone recuperated.

They finally got their other all-star staring pitcher back the Sunday before the mid-season classic 2 weeks ago Sunday. The first game after the all-star game, the other star pitcher re-injures his elbow.

It doesn�t end there.

Once the finally get the rest of the starting players back, they go into a nosedive, losing something like 8 of their last 10 games.

After blowing an 8-2 lead (in the 6th inning) to loose to the Cardinals this afternoon, they now find themselves 9.5 games behind these same Cardinals, and behind 4 teams for the wild card spot in the playoffs.

Oh yeah- I forgot to mention that the (hated by Cub�s fans) Cardinals, after starting the season out 14-15, have gone something like 42-17 ever since. They have the best team in the National league (by far), and have made a point of thumping on the heads of the surviving Cubs players for the last couple of weeks. They won�t face each other again this season unless the Cubs make the playoffs (HA!), so at least I won�t have to listen to all the crap I hear at work.

I am the only real Cubs fan in the storage (San-D is in the field office, so she doesn�t have to hear it as much as I do. There are at least 6 die-hard Cardinals fans, and with them playing such good baseball, another 8 or so non-baseball-but-winning-team-bandwagon-jumping fans added to the mix.

To paraphrase Willie Nelson:

�Mommas, don�t let you babies grow up to be Cubs fans��


I guess it is about time to find my various St� Louis Cardinals cats in the basement rafters. Anytime they have played this well in the past, I have made it a point to wear them to work. Sorta my �hex� on their success, I guess.

That, or go back to wearing whatever team the Cardinals are playing at any given time. I think I have at least one cap, whether the one they wear now or have worn in the past) of every team in the Major leagues.

Na�I think I will wear Cardinals caps. Play along with them, start calling the team �we�, as I am always getting on them about doing themselves.� We� don�t play for any ball club, �we� aren�t on the payroll�, so when a conversation between two of my co-workers goes like this: : �All we need to do is pick up a shortstop and we will win it all!�, it just cracks me up as being pretty pathetic.

It�s just a game played by overpaid grownups. It�s not like it�s something that is actually important, like world events, troops being deployed overseas, or a tree rat stealing my peaches, after all�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top