Today's music?

Budgie - "Bandolier" (1975 - A+M Records)...great "overlooked" hard rock from my high school years...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Jul. 21, 2004 - 8:47 p.m.

Busy summer day, so I�ll just have a couple of �photo-questions� for you today�

Had not one, but two coworkers bring me sweet corn from their fields today.

This, after I processed 14 ears of primo �peaches and cream� for the freezer yesterday. Ended up with 8 �cans� worth of frozen corn.

How did I do this, you ask?

I brought my stock pot to a boil, added the husked corn to the water, cooked them for 6 minutes (this is known as �blanching� or Par-boiling�) to stop the breakdown of the corn�s sugar into starch, cut the kernels from each cob (fun fact- in a good year two ears of corn produces 16-18 ounces of cut kernels. A can of Del Monte� corn weighs 14 � ounces, water included. So if you eat two ears of fresh sweet corn, you are taking in over a can of corn! No wonder I feel so bloated this time of year!), and then packed the cut corn into Ziploc� bags with water for use later this winter!

So you can see why I didn�t feel like doing more of this today!

What did I do with all of the corn given to me today(30+ ears)?

I handed it out to (mostly) family and friends.

I did keep about 8 ears for use over the next week or so. This wasn�t possible just 20 years ago. That was before geneticist developed the �super sweet� gene in corn. Back then, you had to harvest the corn on the perfect day (with maybe a 3 day window of opportunity), and then process everything THAT DAY!

If you didn�t?

Your �sweet� corn more closely resembled �filed� corn in no time.

Anyway�

Because of the fact I had to deliver this corn several places, along with the fact I had already planned on making my one big meal this workweek tonight (steak and chicken fajitas, along with chips with fresh raw salsa made from garden ingredients), that left me with no time to compose a real entry.

Aside from the rambling above, that is.

I have two photographs that I need your input on, though.

If you�d please?

Photo #1:

What in the world is this metal object I found today, resting on the bricks at the bottom of the hill in my back yard?

(Aren�t you proud of me for not using the usual �What the fuck?� reference to the above photo? Oh well� I just used the word �fuck� here anyway, so never mind�)

I have no idea how it ended up there. The old three-story garage is about 8 feet away, so I don�t think it came off of that structure.

It is about the size of your hand, and is made out of (very rusty) metal.

Any guess what this was made for? Or why it ended up in my backyard?


Photo #2:

This shot was also taken tonight. It shows the �other� wild sunflower plant that decided to grow a few feet from out birdfeeder. The old one, �immortalized� in the photographs in this entry, is just to the left of the bigger plant.

My question is simple- should I let this monster (now over 10� tall, and still growing) grow until it blooms (might be another 2-3 weeks or so), or should I get the chainsaw out and cut it down before it decides to eat one or more of my dogs?

I will decide what to do based on whatever (or any?) responses I get in either my guestbook, email box, or notes that you send my way�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top