Today's music?

Daniel Cage - "Loud on Earth" (2000 - MCA Records)....British singer/songwriter in the Peter Gabriel mode.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jul. 22, 2004 - 9:02 p.m.

OK, the sunflower gets to live (all 2 votes are in!)..plus- more heavy-duty canning, and watching a wicked storm develop at work, until�

I won�t saw the giant sunflower plant down.

At least not until after it blooms and the local cardinals and finches get their fill of its seeds.

I think this one is a throwback to the wild ones that grow on the right-of-way around here. It won�t have a single giant bloom, but instead should have 30 or more small blooms all over the branches and stalk.

When it blooms, you will know�


Moose called me this morning, and told me that the metal item found in my backyard was an old-time gutter downspout leaf guard.

Makes sense.

All except how it ended up on the ground at least 8 or so feet from the garage.

Maybe an angry bird pulled it out of the downspout and tossed it aside?

Don�t know.

The gutters are so old and rusty on this garage (I didn�t have them replaced when I did the house a couple of years ago, even though I should have done so), putting it back in place is silly.

Especially considering the fact the downspouts don�t attach to a storm sewer or anything. They just dump their flow into the area between my house and the Drug Dealing Neighbor�s back yard.

If a bunch of wet, moldy leaves end up coming out over their, it�s no skin off of my teeth anyway�


I am burning a vacation day tomorrow to process the 2 large plastic buckets of peaches kindly given to me by Mr. Snow one of our winter �snowbirds� and a fine American (yes, that is his real last name- perfect, eh?).

Guess I should just let my neighborhood tree rat eat his fill off of my tree now?

No, I don�t think so. The Havahart� is baited with fresh sweet corn as I type this. Still would love to relocate him anyway�

I also have enough jalapeno peppers (both from Bugs� garden and my own) to make a double batch of pickled peppers too.

I was tempted to call in sick to accomplish this work. I never take a sick day (thankfully, I haven�t been �under the weather� much for a few years), and since we can accumulate unused sick time here at the NDDOT, I have a ridiculous amount of time stored up.

But my conscience won�t let me do this. I have around 20 vacation days stored up anyway, so I'll just use one for hot work in the kitchen.

I expect to end up with around 30-40 pints of sliced peaches, maybe a double batch of peach jam, and the aforementioned jalapeno peppers.

Should take me around 5-6 hours to complete the work.

If it takes any less than that, I will head down to B.A.C.E. Lake, hoping to scare up a few hungry bluegills. Don�t want to waste an entire vacation day canning stuff, after all�


Took this photograph of one of the giant dahlias we have blooming in the back garden yesterday. The bloom is about the size of a large (Chicago 16�) softball:

These huge blooms are about my favorite flowers. Might post a few more here in the next few days�


A big summer storm developed here this afternoon. From oppressive heat and humidity came a cold front, and the large thunderstorms that accompany this clash.

Clouds started rolling overhead, headed out of the north. These clouds were moving at different speeds, depending on their altitude. That also seems to happen at times like this.

The air temperature dropped about 15 degrees in less than 5 minutes. Around that time, a light, wind-driven rain began to fall. We could hear the thunder from far off lightning for at least 30 minutes leading up to this storm when�

A BOLT CAME FROM THE SKY AND EITHER HIT ONE OF THE LIGHT POLES IN THE EAST SIDE OF OUR STORAGE PARKING LOT OR A TREE ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE FENCE!

It was one of those �you hear it before you see the flash� bolts out of the blue. Wicked loud, too.

Tony, Clint, a salesman, and I were all standing in the open bay door when this happened. We all scattered when the lightning struck.

I think I moved the fastest�


We only received 2/10th of an inch in this whole outburst.

Unless we pick up more rain tonight it will have to be time to drag the garden hoses out, I guess���

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top