Today's music?

Velvet Revolver - "Contraband" (2004 - RCA Records)..Former Guns'n'Roses (minus Axl) plus Scott Weiland from STP= go



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Jul. 25, 2004 - 7:18 p.m.

It's Sunday, but it wasn�t a day of �rest� for me�

We did sleep in this morning. Codeman in headed to Missouri with the Lovely Chelsea and her family, so we didn�t have to make a huge meal for breakfast.

The phone rang at about 7 am. I would have ignored it, but I thought it might by Codeman. Didn�t want to find out later that he had some problems on his trip,. And I let the machine pick it up.

It wasn�t Codeman. It was J-Rod.

He was calling from Maine. He is on his way to Bulgaria for his annual 2 weeks of training for the Army guard. He wanted us to know that his plane had made it to the east coast, and that he was on his way overseas.

Why Bulgaria?

Don�t know. We are just glad it isn�t Iraq�


I might have been a little short with him on the phone. Considering the fact we didn�t turn the lights out until after Midnight, and that Sunday is our day to play catch-up with missed sleep, I think he expected it�.


After breakfast, I spent about 2 hours trying to regain control over the weeds in my vegetable garden. Seems like they have taken over in the heat of the past couple of weeks, especially the climbing vines. I filled the 5-gallon bucket at least 4 times just in the tomato and pepper areas alone.

I also did what I could to pull the tomato vines up from where they had escaped from their 5� tall cages. The heat really sent them on a growth spurt, causing wayward branches to be criss-crossing every which way wherever I planted them. I broke a few of these vines by moving them (they were heavy with new fruit), but that shouldn�t have a major effect on my harvest. All of the rain we have had this spring and summer has made my tomatoes very healthy and the vines long.

I should be canning salsa as early as mid-week�


I did a little picking today. Filled half of a bucket with cucumbers , and topped the bucket off with 4 small (but ripe) cantaloupes.

The cukes were sliced into spears and made into my first batch of sweet pickles of the summer. I ended up with 14 wide mouth pints (13 sealed, one didn�t) that were processed in 2 batches. That is about what I hoped for in the past for an entire summer.

The new location in the garden, along with the wooden frame they are growing on (instead of the chain link fence in the past) has increased my yield a bunch. I don�t really need this many cukes- I will probably start handing the extras out in the near future�


I also picked a few ripe peaches from my second tree this morning. I counted 3 different tree rats working the small tree today. This means they are sending out an aroma strong enough to attract even more distant squirrels.

The tree didn�t become ripe last year until the 7th of August. The majority of this year�s crop will be ready way before that date.

I really don�t need any more for processing. I just want to be able to hand out my surplus, that�s all.

And make a batch of peach salsa, if I have the time�.


Enough rambling. I am beginning to fell very tired, and Lease is watching something that sounds interesting on the TV in the bedroom.

I think it�s about time for me to join her�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top