Today's music?

Velvet Revolver -"Contraband"(2004 - RCA Records)..Former Guns'n'Roses (minus Axl) plus Scott Weiland from STP= good



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jul. 26, 2004 - 8:05 p.m.

More uninvited diners, a batch of pickled jalapeno peppers, and a new bird?

Came home from work tonight, and even before I got out of the Hillbilly truck I was being cursed out by a tree rat. He was in the front Ash tree, no doubt checking out the slowly ripening nectarines on the miniature tree by the front door.

No downed fruit that I could tell, so I must have interrupted his thievery.

I didn�t take any shots (with the b.b. gun, folks- it�s not like I am ever gonna kill one of the rats this way) at him. I did bark at him a little bit, though.

No wonder the neighbors give me strange looks all the time�


I think this is the old squirrel that I have plunked many times in the past. He didn�t have the prettiest looking coat of fur. Missing a spot here and there.

The way he was cussing at me as soon as he saw me is another reason why I felt this way. The new ones that started showing up this weekend don�t make a sound when I go outside.

Just this one�


Speaking of the other uninvited peach eaters�

When I took the dogs outside tonight, I noticed that there were three more hanging around the second peach tree. On the ground were several new partially eaten fruits.

Time to get the b.b gun out.

I walked down to the tree, and the two who were in its branches jumped to the ground and joined the straggler in the Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!

I will remind you again- this gun couldn�t kill a cricket, let alone the thick hide of a tree rat.

All I am trying to do is scare them away.

I think I might have accomplished this with these three newbies. I don�t think I made solid contact on any of them, but I did have them scurrying all over the trunk and branches of the tree before each took their chances and jumped onto the cable TV line.

I hope they decide to stay away now. At least for a few more days, anyway. I might just clear the tree off on Thursday or so. That way, the fruit will finish ripening indoors and be ready for processing this weekend.

I have a nice bowl full of early ripening fruit on the kitchen table as I type this entry. Enough to make a small batch of raw peach salsa maybe?

I might just eat them as they are�


Canned up the jalapeno peppers tonight. I ended up with 1 quart and 7 pints of my peppers, and another 3 pints of peppers for Bugs (my former coworker). He always grows his own, and then brings them to me to can up. Since he grows the old, super hot versions of this pepper (I grow the wimpy milder �Fooled You� variety, because I can eat a bunch more without scalding my throat), I usually give him back all of his harvest. He thinks I keep half (I used to, in the past).

Don�t tell him. What he don�t know isn�t that important. I don�t mind letting him think he is adding to my harvest, and the cost of vinegar is very low�.


We have another bird to add to our backyard collection.

Check it out:

A while back when I went fishing with Moose, I stopped by his house before heading to the lake. In several spots in his yard, he had these crows guarding the property. Some were standing upright, some leaning over as if feeding.

I mentioned to him that I thought they were pretty cool, so he offered to make me one.

I didn�t say that to get one from him, but I am happy he decided to make it for me.

He asked me what pose I wanted, and I told him whatever he wanted to make. Since he makes these out of discarded bicycle forks, broken shovels, and old used mower parts, each one can be a little different from the rest. He took 4 different ones he made to San-D�s house on Sunday, and had her pick out one for herself and me.

He is another view:

At the right of this photo you can barely see the 4� tall metal crane that Lease picked out this spring at Prairie Gardens. I like the crane, but because it is homemade ,I think the crow is much cooler�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top