Today's music?

Velvet Revolver- "Contraband"(2004 - RCA Records)..Former Guns'n'Roses (minus Axl) plus Scott Weiland from STP=good



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Jul. 28, 2004 - 5:35 p.m.

Enough is enough (tree rat-wise) �plus- this is what you get when you go crying to headquarters (no, not me)�

I picked up another 20 half-eaten peaches from the ground yesterday evening. Even though the majority of the fruit is still firm, the scent coming off of the tree is overpowering. This became a siren�s song for squirrels from far away.

I counted 3 more in the various trees yesterday. When I went down to clean up the mess, none of them chattered at me. They didn�t even leave the area until I took a few half-hearted shots at them with the b.b. gun.

Tonight?

I walked through the back gate and looked down towards the tree. There were at least 3 squirrels in the tree, hopping back and forth between the braches. This caused several of the ripest ones to fall to the ground.

It looked like it was raining peaches.

Enough.

I chased these interlopers away with a few well aimed plunks from the Coleman�, and then set to picking every peach I thought was far enough along to be ripe by Friday or Saturday.

I ended up with about 8 gallons worth in my 2 buckets.

What to do with them?

I am thinking peach salsa (more on that below), and maybe another batch of jam. These are of the variety �Elberta�, where Mr. Snow�s are �Reliance�. These are not a sugary as his, but they have a very intense �peach� flavor. That means each batch of jam tastes different from the other.

Like I need another 14 half-pints of jam�.


I made the fallen and picked up peaches from the last few days into a small, unprocessed batch of peach salsa tonight after work. It only took me about 45 minutes, start to finish.

Some of these peaches fell because they had been damaged by very tiny grubs. This is one of the problems you end up with when you try to cut back on chemical use in the home garden. The pests have a much easier time doing their damage.

Even so, I only had to cut small spots from the fruit before I tossed them into the blender (along with a couple of �Big Jim� chili peppers, 2 small red onions, garlic, cilantro, lime juice, and a little salt and pepper). I cooked everything for about 15 minutes, and then put the salsa into 8 half-pint containers. I used old lids and just put them into the fridge without going through the boiling water bath canning process.

I will just give these away to be eaten right away.

Well, some of them. I think I might be eating a little peach salsa in my lunches for the next week or so, too�


I am not sure what to do about the other peaches left on the tree. I left well over 60% of what was still hanging tonight.

I guess the rodents have worked hard enough at overcoming my defenses; I should just let them eat their fill of the rest. I can always go down every night and get a couple more ripe ones for my lunch and such until the strip the rest.

That probably won�t take them more than a few days, the rate they are wasting them now.

One positive thing about the tree rats focusing on this tree- my nectarine tree up front is still a week or more away from being ready to harvest. Last summer, they were ready before the peaches. Why they reversed themselves this year, I do not know.

But as long as they are happy eating the undersized peaches I left on the tree in the back, that increases my odds of getting most of the nectarines�.


Things have gotten even stooooooopider at work this week.

I know- even I didn�t think that was possible.

I don�t have time to write about it now .Lease should be home any minute, and we are headed out for a nice dinner out.

I�ll just leave you with this bit- the temporary lead workers (no, we STILL don�t have a full-time Mohall 1) are no longer allowed to fill out the work assignment sheet.

That is now being done by our Tech, Beavis.

This is not one of his responsibilities, nor should it be.

I don�t think anyone really wants him doing this, either.

Why is he doing this?

Someone (or 2 or 3) filled a complaint in Bismarck against the present temp #1, stating something along the lines of, �Bad man is picking on me! Whaaaaaaa!�

Of course, I am paraphrasing.

If the whiners think they were getting picked on before, just wait and see what kinds of shitty jobs they end up with now�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top