Today's music?

Velvet Revolver -"Contraband"(2004 - RCA Records)..Former Guns'n'Roses (minus Axl) plus Scott Weiland from STP=good



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Jul. 30, 2004 - 8:13 p.m.

�I really love your peaches, wanna shake your tree��well, actually- about your peaches? I�m tired of them (as I imagine you are of mine, too)�.

I can�t stand the music of the Steve Miller Band, btw�

Burned 2 hours of vacation today (after unloading a semi full of rubber, and catching up on my paperwork).

Since the head of our district was planning on being at the storage at 1 pm (when I left), and he wants to talk to me about the present insane situation at the storage (didn�t want to ruin a Friday afternoon with THAT crap), I figured it was a good time to bug out early.

I still have around 20 days of accumulated vacation time, btw. Not like 2 hours (out of 160) will make or break me�


I did the boiling water/slip the skins routine with both buckets of peaches. I even patrolled the area around the tree (while 2 tree rats watched me from the Evil Black Walnut Tree From Hell!, squawking at me the entire time), picking up another 20 or so uneaten , semi-ripe peaches.

Are you sick of my writing about peaches at this point?

I don�t blame you- I am sick of slipping the skins off of, chopping and processing, canning and cleaning up after these pit fruits myself.

Anyway�

Today�s end result?

16 canned (and 1 unprocessed) pints of medium peach salsa. Just enough heat to make sure you know it isn�t peach sauce or something. The way I like salsa, actually.

Before I cooked the salsa, I processed enough fruit for a double batch of jam.

But this isn�t regular peach jam.

No, I used the Ball� Blue Book recipe for spiced peach jam.

And I added nutmeg to the ingredients (cloves, cinnamon, and allspice, for those wondering)

I ended up with 13 sealed half-pints of this spiced jam, along with another 3 that were just put into jars and tossed into the �fridge.

I have no idea how many jars of peach-related items I have put up in the past 18 days or so. It has to be near 70, if you include all of the jam, sliced fruit, and salsa.

Good thing I (and most of the members of both Lease and my family) love peaches, eh?


I started working on the black and white sunflower photos last night. I have a ways to go, but I like how they have turned out so far.

Won�t post any of them here just yet, though. I have to be sure I like the finished product before I show them to you.

For now, I will leave you with this photo:

Please ignore the temporary mess in my garage. Just focus on the onions/garlic/shallots.

This is the way I am curing my members of the allium family this year. I mounted several 4� screws into the ceiling of the old 3-story garage, and then strung wire between each pair. From this, I have hung small bundles of cleaned onions/garlic/shallots in order to dry them for storage.

My onions have been one of the few gardening disappointments of the year. Almost every crop I grow has been better than normal. The onions were planted at the usual time, but it stayed very dry for the first couple of weeks they were in the ground. Because of that, many of the starts/seedlings died before they could become established.

The only good onions this year were the �Redwing� seedlings I started from seed. The Vidalia plants did ok, but not as good as usual. The �Candy�, �White Spanish� and Yellow Spanish� only produced about 1/5th of the crop they should have, due to dieback.

Garlic?

Fine. Since it gets planted in the fall, the early spring dry spell had no effect on the, Ditto for the shallots.

I have enough onions for the salsa to be made in the coming weeks.

That�s all that really matters to me�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top