Today's music?

Velvet Revolver -"Contraband"(2004 - RCA Records)..Former Guns'n'Roses (minus Axl) plus Scott Weiland from STP=good



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Aug. 01, 2004 - 9:37 p.m.

Good weekend� busy, hot, and hectic- but good�

Lease had circled yesterday on the calendar a few weeks ago. An �organized tag sale� (aka- �someone died, and we are having an expensive rummage sale of their stuff�) had been advertised in the paper since then.

She bought a few small things. I think she really wanted a chest of drawers and mirrored vanity set, but she balked at the price. I told her to buy it anyway (would have set us back $300 for the pair), but I think she just didn�t want them badly enough.

She did buy a 1970�s, Japanese-style dress for her sister to wear to the Halloween wedding of Tara and Shawn. They didn�t have a price on it, but came up with $5 when pressed. Considering the dress is made from silk, that is a steal.

Even if it is an awful color of pink, with (like I said already) 1970�s styling tossed into the package.

From what we could figure out, a very prominent layer owned the home, and he passed away several years ago. Considering the home was located in Mohall, that means he was relatively well know (locally, anyway). This meant that there were tons of Mohall folks, pawing through their possessions.

I guess his wife either went into a nursing home, or passed away herself in the recent past. Sad, but that�s life�

They had accumulated a ton of nick-naks and other junk in their marriage. None of that stuff interested us.

It seems like people who grow old together stop buying new material things about the age of 50 or so. After that? Only necessities, I guess.

For that reason, most of their �stuff� (for lack of a better word) was purchased before 1980. The furniture was very nice, but dated. Ditto for the house wares and kitchen supplies.

We did walk away with a few cool buys.

I found three metal tumblers from the 1960�s. These were made in Italy. Set me back .75�

These brought back memories of spending summer days at my Great Aunt Mary�s house, drinking Tropicana� orange drink from ice cold metal tumblers exactly like these.

I showed them to my sister last night, and asked her to tell me the first thing that came to mind.

She also said �Aunt Mary�.

How cool is that? A simple .75� purchase took both of us back to 1967 or so, and a happy memory from childhood�


I also bought a metal egg poacher (I think that is the proper name for it) for .05�.

No, I don�t have a craving for poached eggs.

Nephew J-Rod asked me how you make poached eggs a while back. We don�t eat them, so I didn�t have one of these devices to show him back then.

When he gets back from Bulgaria (where he is doing his yearly National Guard traing right now), I will have a cheap gift for him.


Lease also bought a faux gold Kleenex� holder for $5, and a hand embroidered doily-thing for .50�. She put that on the top of our bedroom TV stand.

Not my kinda thing, but it made her happy�


My bargain from this sale?

Canning jars, of course.

The pantry downstairs contained about 50 jars. Of these, none were newer that the early 1960�s. Many were blue glass Ball� jars, prized by some collectors if they are of a rare run.

I don�t can in those old jars. I am not sure how well they will work with modern self-seal lids. They were designed to take two-part metal and glass closures.

I have had people tell me they work ok, usually. I don�t want to waste all the time and work not knowing if the seals will hold.

Anyway�

Since I only wanted the newer jars (which were still unique and old in their own way), I told the women who were running this sale that the blue jars might be worth something to a collector, but I only wanted the ones that could still be used for my purposes.

There were no prices on these jars, so I asked them what they wanted for the Non-collector jars.

The owner told me that if I was willing to drag them up from the basement and offered her a price, she would gladly give them to me.

Cool�

I could only cram 20 of the 30 or so clear glass jars into a case-beer cardboard flat. I carried them upstairs and offered her .10� a jar.

She said, �No, how about .05� each. A buck sound fine to me�.

Again- cool.

Some have quilted sides. Some are from the �Atlas� company, know as the only �Strong Shoulder� jar in the world.

The world of 1950, I think.

All will be full of salsa by September.

I am running low on pint jars about now (can�t get most of my friends, family, and coworkers to return the empties, don�t �cha know?).

Without these kinda bargains, I couldn�t afford to put up all of these �freebies� for everyone�


Lease and I spent the day on N.P.P. Lake today, fruitlessly trying to coax fish from their hot weather doldrums.

In other words- the fishing sucked today.

Not the company I spent it with- always a fun day spent fishing with Lease, whether we catch anything or not.

We did boat a 3 pound largemouth bass (Lease hooked, but I fought and landed it), a couple of White Bass, a tiny carp 9maybe 8 ounces- smallest one I ever remember catching in my life), and about 15 bluegill.

The high today was 94�.

That is just too damn hot.

Oh well- like the bumper sticker on my truck says- �A bad day fishing beats a great day of work�.

Truer words were never spoken�


You still reading this?

Then�

I know- time to post the black and white �slowly dieing back� sunflower photos.

O.K.- here there are:

Too dark? Depressing? Think they are crap?

Whatever you think- just let me know, �k?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top