Today's music?

Burning Brides - "Leave no Ashes" (2004- V2Records)...Hard rock, dark subject matter- what's not to like?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2004 - 5:39 p.m.

My Dad is HOW OLD TODAY?�Plus- one of my photos won an award? A very small-time award, but it still made my day�

75.

That�s right- he was born the year that the Great Depression hit America.

His older brother and sister always blamed him for that.

He has seen and been through a lot of things in his lifetime. He sat in a chair and watched early radar screens in Freezeyourassoff (Barrow), Alaska during the height of the cold war for the U.S. Air Force (early 1950�s). He always told me that the summers were great, but they didn�t make up for the other 11 and � months of the year.

He married my mom, and then divorced her when I was in the 6th grade. Trust me- he had a very good reason for doing this.

Instead of following the norm for the time (1973), he decided that he wouldn�t let my mother take us without a fight. Once his lawyer explained why he was doing this to her lawyer, they decided it was in the best interest of the children (my sister and myself) that he be given whole custody.

This was 1973, folks. The courts would routinely give custody to the mother, even if she were a complete derelict.

That�s how much he loves us. He didn�t want us to suffer through whatever Hell our mother would have drug us through while she was living out her �I am WOMAN, hear me ROAR!� period�

He raised me through my (somewhat) wild teenage years, for which I owe him big time.

He retired at 57 from a job he hated working for a boss who was as bad as a boos could be (property assessor for the city of Mohall), and has spent the past 18 years either working part-time or at leisure, watching his beloved cubs break his heart summer after summer.

True to my father�s nature, he told my sister and me that he didn�t want to make a big deal out of this milestone anniversary of his birth.

We respect that, so we had the cookout on Saturday (since he can�t cook over a charcoal grill at his apartment).

Tonight, we are taking my stepmother and him out to dinner at his favorite steakhouse in town. Not one of those Texas-themed places that soak your paper-thin �Rib-eye� in sodium-who-knows-what all day before grilling it for you- this place has been family owned and run since the 1940�s. They still make the best steak in town, and wait on you like you are important to them, too.

I bought him a new book about (what else?) the Chicago Cubs. I don�t remember the title right now (it�s in the basement as I type this� note to self- go get it as soon as you finish typing this entry), but the book is a compilation of essays written by everyday fans. They try to explain why they continue to follow and love a team that rips your heart out at lease every other year, leaving you with the familiar refrain, �Wait until next year!�

Anyway�

I need to finish getting ready before Lease pulls into the driveway.

Later�..


Oh- one last thing:

One of my sunflower photos has been picked as �The photo of the day� by the local ABC affiliate.

I don�t know which one (I sent them a couple- I�m guessing it is the one that cosmiccrayola used for her template.

Unless they showed it yesterday ( I wasn�t watching ), it hasn�t been put on the air as of yet. This morning�s shot was of a mother duck and its babies, �going to church� (according to the person who sent that photo in).

They didn�t say what religion the mallards followed, btw�

I received an email yesterday saying that they chose it, and that you could vote for it to be �picture of the week� starting this Friday.

The winner of that award this week gets a basket full of spa-type stuff from a local business. I think Lease might enjoy that, so I probably will shamelessly ask you to vote for my picture, once they post it on the Internet�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top