Today's music?

Rick James - "Bustin' Out of L Seven" (1979- Motown Records) Yes, I really do own this album- bought it in '79



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Aug. 06, 2004 - 5:43 p.m.

The entry where I ask you to do something for me�.plus-so long, Superfreak�

You know how when someone gets nominated for an Academy Award, and someone sticks a microphone in front of there face?

The nominee always says something along the lines of, �It is just an honor to be nominated for my movie. To be recognized by my peers is all that I could want. Winning the award doesn�t really mean much to me�.

You believe them?

No.

So, if I now tell you that I am just happy that my photograph was chosen by an ABC television as the picture of the day (for Monday, when I didn�t watch the show), you know what it is, right?

Bullshit.

I would like to win this small-time contest, so I am asking you to check all of the photographs out, and then make a decision on which you think is the best.

My fellow nominees include:

1. The aforementioned ducks �going to church� (nothing like bringing religion into every little part of your life!)

2.A picture of a toadstool in someone�s front yard (?)

3.An interesting (but badly) cropped photograph of horse in a rodeo during a downpour.

4.And the close-up of the genitalia of a boxer puppy.

My shot, in case you don�t recognize it (they took a little liberty in cropping it to fit the screen), is this one:

Here is the original:

Hum�I guess they didn�t change it too much�

If you want to, just click here and place your vote.

I won�t be upset if you pick the obscene boxer puppy photo.

But since Lease will get a nice basket filled with spa stuff if I win, I hope you click on my photo instead�


Tonight is the first night of the Mohall Celebration.

Whoo hoo!

No, I really mean that.

We look forward to this street fair every summer. It is a chance to pay too much for a beer, catch up with people you only see once a year (or less), and watch a few bands from the recent past.

This year, the bands include the Presidents of the United States of America (PEACHES!), Los Straightjackets, and the Gin Blossoms.

That�s the ones I want to see, anyway. There is something like 3 big stages and 6 smaller ones, all with performers putting on 2 shows an evening.

Pretty cool stuff.

Makes overpaying for the eats worthwhile�


Codeman and I are official volunteers again this year. We didn�t do it the past couple of years, mainly because Sindy (our neighbor down the street) wasn�t involved. She was our connection to the stage work, and without her getting us signed up and to get us to pay for our official work polo shirts, we just didn�t get to it.

We might help set up equipment for either P.U.S.A. or the Gin Blossoms. If not, we will probably just do security for the first show of each band each night.

Might get some decent close-up photos of the bands, too, since I will be standing guard at the only gate that allows people to the backstage area.

That�s close enough to get sweat from the lead singer dripped onto me�


Speaking of music:

I was sorry to read that one of the biggest stars of 1970�s Funk music passed away today.

Rick James was probably best remembered for either the song �Super Freak (part 1)�, or his conviction for holding a woman he accused of stealing his drugs hostage in his mansion while he and his girlfriend forced her to smoke crack cocaine and perform sexual acts on each of them.

He served time for that (and another kinky incident), but came out of prison clean and totally off of the music business� radar.

I think the last thing I saw him on was �The Surreal Life�, where he was brought on the show by Eric Estrada to meet Vanilla Ice. He looked puffy and in poor health.

He was only 56 when he died.

I guess all of those years of drug abuse really did a number on his body, eh?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top