Today's music?

Dan Balmer - "Music" (1991 - CMG Records)..Jazz guitar, along the lines of Pat Metheny



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Aug. 14, 2004 - 9:24 p.m.

Sick of this �journal� having entries involving the ubiquitous sunflower? Sorry- one more (short one) involving these flower and myself for today�s entry�

(Amazing side note- I was able to spell the word �ubiquitous� without the use of the Word� program�s spellchecker feature.)

Today must be a good day�

A while back, I mentioned here that I had two totally different wild sunflowers growing in my back yard flowerbed. Both came from seeds that must have been tossed aside by birds chowing down at our backyard birdfeeder last winter.

The first one was the source for a bunch of close-up shots I posted here back in June. If you missed them, they are in this entry.

It was also a standard sized, giant headed sunflower. The most common variety that farmers grow for commercial production, this plant only grows about 6� tall. They are also the source of the photographs that I took across the road from the storage.

Yeah, you know- the ones that I entered into the ABC photo contest, only to loose to a boxer puppy photograph last week.

Anyway�

When I took the photographs of the wild sunflowers in my back yard, I asked y�all if I should let the plants grow to maturity, or should I pull them before they choked out the other flowers I had sown in this bed.

Overwhelmingly, you told me to let the plants grow.

At least that is what the few of you who responded to my question said I should do.

So I did.

Now, almost 2 months later, the other plant is in full bloom.

It is more like the truly wild sunflowers that grow in the ditches and farmer�s right-of-ways around here.

Except for one thing- the couple of doses of Miracle Grow� I gave it might have made it grow to unbelievable heights.

This photograph (taken by my beautiful wife, Lease), should give you an idea of how tall it really is. I had to hold the main stalk up because the weight of the top has caused the whole plant to sag down a little.

You'll just have to imagine how big it really is. I am 6�3� tall. Take that, and compare that to the top flowers on the plant:

I will estimate the height of this plant at 12 foot tall.

That is a conservative guess, btw.

Once the flowers fade, it has to go.

It has choked out the native sunflower plants I started from seed this winter, along with whatever else might have grown in this area.

But you have to let nature have its way, right?

Who am I to try to force my will upon the soil located in my property?

If not for the wild Queen Anne�s Lace (which I started from seeds I gathered on the right-of-way about 5 years ago), I wouldn�t have noticed the colorful caterpillars , munching on their foliage yesterday.

Let nature take its course. Enjoy the end results.

That is as good a gardening philosophy as I can come up with, on a Saturday evening�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top